Underwood Stakes Stats

Picture: Adam Taylor/theaustralian.com.au
Classy Kiwi, It's A Dundeel, is the last four-year-old to win the Underwood Stakes. Picture: Adam Taylor/theaustralian.com.au

Underwood Stakes (1800m) - Caulfield

Saturday, 26 September, 2015

Winners Profile

Four-year-olds have won this event 15 times (including six of the last seven). The most recent was It’s A Dundeel in 2013.

11 horses 6yo and upwards have been victorious, as well as six 5yos.
16 geldings have been successful since 1983, with Foreteller the most recent in 2014. 15 entires have saluted, the most recent being It’s A Dundeel in 2013.
In the last 32 editions, only one mare has saluted; Ross McDonald’s Tristarc in 1983.


All winners since 1983 have come via group racing. Eight won their previous start, while another 11 were placed.

15/32 have come via the Group 1 Makybe Diva, with Weekend Hussler the last to notch the Makybe Diva/Underwood double in 2008.


The G1 Memsie Stakes and G2 John F Feehan have also been key lead-ups. So You Think completed the Memsie/Underwood double in 2010 and Northerly notched the Feehan/Underwood double in 2001.


Only seven favourites have saluted since 1983, the most recent being Bart Cummings' star galloper So You Think ($1.70) in 2010.

25 winners have started under double figure odds in the past three decades.

There have been seven hot favourites, starting at even money or shorter. Of those, only three were successful. The last ‘hottie’ to get rolled was Atlantic Jewel ($1.55) in 2013.

The longest priced winner in the past three decades was Mick Price’s Rubiscent ($41) in 2007, which accounted for $2.10 favourite Miss Finland.


Barrier 7 is the most successful producing five of the 32 winners since 1983. Next best are gates 4 & 6 with four victories each. Seven of the last 10 winners have come from single digit gates.

No horse has been successful from barrier 10 or 11 in the last three decades.

The most recent winner from the coveted inside stall was Intergaze in 1999.

The last horse to win from the outside barrier (13/13) was Rubiscent in 2007


  Controversial hoop Danny Nikolic has a great record in this event; 9: 4-1-1.


Glen Boss 7: 2-0-0, Damien Oliver 18: 1-4-3 (Northerly in 2001), Steven Arnold 9: 1-2-0, Brad Rawiller 5: 1-1-1, Craig Newitt 10: 1-0-0, Craig Williams 9: 0-1-0 and Luke Nolen 8: 0-1-0.


Since 1983, Bart Cummings (three times), Lee Freedman, Colin Hayes, Fred Kersley, Murray Baker and Mick Price all recorded multiple wins.

Chris Waller 3: 1-0-1 and John Hawkes 5: 1-0-0.

For some well-known trainers, this race has proven elusive; David Hayes 18: 0-1-2, Mark Kavanagh 5: 0-1-1, Peter Moody 10: 0-1-0, Darren Weir 2: 0-1-0 & Robert Hickmott 5: 0-0-1.

General Facts


This $400,000 WFA contest over 1800m dates back 1924 and was held at the Williamstown Racecourse up until 1947 before moving to Caulfield.


The event went straight from a Principal Race to a Group 1 in 1979, while the distance has varied between 1400m, 1600m, 1800m and 2000m, before settling on 1800m in 1994.
 •  It has been won by some of Australasia’s best gallopers; So You Think (2010), Northerly (2001/2), Octagonal (1996), Tobin Bronze (1966), Ajax (1938/39/40) and Phar Lap (1931).  The honour roll also includes; Weekend Hussler (2008), Elvstroem (2004), Mummify (2003), Intergaze (1999), Tie The Knot (1998), Jeune (1994), Dr Grace (1991), Rubiton (1987), Bonecrusher (1986), How Now (1976), Big Philou (1970) and Rain Lover (1969).


View Full Betting Markets