Golden Rose Stakes Stats

Hallowed Crown. Image courtesy of :
2014 Golden Rose winner Hallowed Crown was trained by Bart Cummings. Image courtesy of: Petch

Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 12 September, 2015

Winners Profile

Colts have dominated this three-year-old contest, winning 17 times since 1983, including six of the last seven.

Eleven geldings have been successful and just three fillies (last being Forensics in 2008).


In recent times, the Run To The Rose has been the preferred lead-up race. In 2014, the Bart and James Cummings trained Hallowed Crown completed the Run To The Rose/Golden Rose double.

Seven winners have come via the Group 3 Up And Coming, with Manawanui the last to complete this double in 2011.


Eight horses took winning form into the race, while four others were placed.


Ten favourites have saluted in 31 editions, with the most recent Denman ($2.40) in 2009.

Seven runners have started at even money or shorter, with five successful.

The two hot favourites to go down were Irish Air ($1.90) in 1997 and Sky Chase ($1.60) in 1987.

The longest priced winner in the past three decades was Roman General ($41) in 1987 when he upset Bart Cummings' hotpot Sky Chase by seven lengths.


Barriers 1, 2 & 11 are the most successful producing four winners each since 1983, while no horse has been successful from gates 7, 10, 13 or 15 in that time. 

21 of 31 winners since 1983 have come from single digit gates.

The most recent winner from the coveted inside stall was Duporth in 2008.

The last winner from the outside barrier was Zoustar (16/16) in 2013.


  This certainly has been a Golden Rose for Hugh Bowman, he’s won it four times since 2003, with his most recent success Hallowed Crown in 2014. His other victories were aboard Duporth, Doonan and In Top Swing.


Jim Cassidy 16: 1-1-3, Kerrin McEvoy 5: 1-1-1, Tommy Berry 3: 1-0-0 & Blake Shinn 4: 0-0-0.


Peter Snowden has won this race four times – Epaulette (2012), Denman (2009), Forensics (2008) and Paratroopers (2005).

Anthony Cummings 13: 2-1-0 & Chris Waller 5: 1-0-1.

For some well-known trainers, this race has proven a difficult assignment – Gai Waterhouse 17: 0-2-3, John Hawkes 10: 0-2-2, David Payne 8: 0-1-0 and Peter Moody 6: 0-1-0.

General Facts


The first Group 1 of the new racing season in Sydney dates back to 1978 and was elevated to Group 1 in 2009 when taken out by Denman. The event was also transferred to the spring.


This $1m contest over 1400m at set weights for three-year-olds has evolved out of the Peter Pan Stakes. The distance varied between 1350m and 1550m, before finally settling on 1400m in 2003.
 •  In 2008, the Golden Rose was run twice after the Equine influenza outbreak forced the cancellation of the 2007 spring edition.
 •  The honour roll includes; Hallowed Crown (2014), Zoustar (2013), Epaulette (2012), Brave Warrior (1994), Sir Dapper (1983) and Kingston Town (1979).


View Full Betting Markets