Memsie Stakes Stats

Image courtesy of: Petch
Who will follow in the footsteps of 2014 Memsie Stakes winner Dissident? Image courtesy of: Petch

Memsie Stakes (1400m) - Caulfied

Saturday, 29 August, 2015

Winners Profile

Four-year-olds have the best record in this event, winning 16/32 since 1983, the last being Dissident in 2014. Five-year-olds have won 10 times (Atlantic Jewel the most recent in 2013), while 6yos and above have won on six occasions.

Three eight-year-olds have been successful in the last three decades – Le Zagaletta (2003), Sir Boom (1999) and Redelva (1991).


Geldings have won on 12 occasions (Sincero the most recent in 2012), entires have saluted 11 times (the last Dissident in 2014) and mares have been successful in nine editions (the latest Atlantic Jewel in 2013).
The most recent back-to-back winner was champion mare Sunline (2000 & 2001).


Since 1983, all bar one of the 32 winners have come via group racing. Nine won their previous start, while another seven were placed.

Ten winners have come through the Group 1 Manikato Stakes, with Sunline the last to complete the Manikato/Memsie double in 2000.


Other interesting doubles include; the Group 1 All Aged Stakes/Memsie Stakes by Atlantic Jewel in 2013, the Listed Aurie’s Star/Memsie by Mic Mac in 2009, the Group 2 J.J. Liston/Memsie by Regal Roller in 2004, the G1 VRC Oaks/Memsie by Magical Miss in 2002 and the AJC Derby/Memsie by Naturalism in1992.


13 favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Atlantic Jewell ($2.25) in 2013, while 29 winners have started at single-figure odds since 1983.

There have been six short-priced favourites, even money or shorter, since 1983. Four were success and two got rolled.

The last ‘shortie’ to go down was Never Undercharge ($1.67), who finished second to Palace Reign in 1993.

The longest priced winners in the past three decades were Bundy Lad ($13) in 1994 and The Phantom ($13) in 1990. Dissident was $12 in 2014. Other than that, there have been no real bolters in the last 32 editions.


Barriers 4 & 5 are the most successful producing five winners each since 1983. Gate 3 is next best with four.

With 8/32 editions since 1983 containing less than 10 runners, the last horse to win from the outside barrier was Le Zagaletta (12/12) in 2003. The Phantom (1990) also won from 12/12.

25 of 32 winners have come from single digit gates.

The most recent winner from the coveted inside stall was Bundy Lad in 1994.


  Darren Gauci has three victories in this race (18: 3-1-0).


Michael Rodd has a great record, missing the place just once in six rides (6: 2-2-1).


Steven Arnold 10: 2-0-0, Damien Oliver 17: 1-3-1, Craig Williams 11: 1-1-0, Brad Rawiller 8: 1-0-1, Luke Nolen 8: 1-0-0, Craig Newitt 9: 0-1-1, Glen Boss 5: 0-1-1 & Mark Zahra 5: 0-0-0.


Bart Cummings, Colin Hayes and Lee Freedman each enjoyed three victories in this race in the past three decades.

Peter Moody has two wins in four years (Dissident 2014 & King’s Rose 2011), with nothing else to show from nine other runners.

Mark Kavanagh 8: 1-3-2, Mick Price 10: 0-1-1, Gai Waterhouse 5: 0-1-0 and Robert Hickmott 6: 0-0-0.  

General Facts


Being the first Group 1 of the new racing season, this $400,000 WFA contest over 1400m is also seen as a genuine lead-in to bigger events later in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.


It dates back to 1899 when it was run over a mile. From 1900-1970 it was contested over 1800m, before dropping back to 1600m until 1979. From 1980 onwards the event has been run at 1400m.
 •  It was elevated from a Principal Race to Group 2 in 1979, before becoming a Group 1 in 2013 and held at Caulfield every year, except for 1984, when it was staged at Sandown Park.
 •  The honour roll includes; Atlantic Jewel (2013), So You Think (2010), Weekend Hussler (2008), Miss Finland (2007), El Segundo (2006), Makybe Diva (2005), Sunline (2000/01), Dane Ripper (1998), Naturalism (1992), Rubiton (1987), Manikato (1982), Galilee (1968), Lord (1958/59/60/61), Rising Fast (1956), Comic Court (1949/50), Tranquil Star (1945), Ajax (1938/39/40) and Phar Lap (1931).


Click the link below for the rest of the facts and winners.

UBET Button 


View Full Betting Markets