Tatts Stats - Stradbroke Handicap

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Stradbroke Handicap (1350m)

Stradbroke Handicap (1350m) - Doomben

Saturday, 06 June, 2015

Winners Profile

In the 32 editions since 1983, 13 four-year-olds have been successful. However, the most recent was Thorn Park back in 2004. Eight 3yos have won, the last being Sincero in 2011. Nine 6yos and over have saluted, including five of the last seven. Five 5yos have won, the last Black Piranha in 2009.

19 Geldings have been successful, including seven of the last eight. Eight colts or stallions have saluted, the most recent Thorn Park in 2004. Five fillies or mares have won, with Mid Summer Music the last in 2012.


In the 32 editions since 1983, only two horses have saluted with more than 56kg – Rough Habit when he won his second Straddy in 1992 (58.5kg) and Campaign King (58.5kg) in 1988.


All 32 winners have come via group racing. Five won their previous start, while 12 others were placed.  

12 winners have come through the Doomben 10,000 with Bart Cummings’ Campaign King the last to complete the Brisbane Winter Carnival sprint double (10,000 & Stradbroke) in 1988.


In 2014, River Lad notched the BRC Sprint/Stradbroke double, while in 1991, Kiwi marvel Rough Habit won the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes before taking out the first of his two Stradbrokes.
  Linton (2013) and Never Undercharge (1993) took out the Stradbroke after group success in Adelaide.


Just six outright favourites and two equal favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions. The most recent punters’ elect to salute was Black Piranha ($4) in 2009.

No horse has started even money or shorter since 1983, with Hareeba (1996) and Schillaci (1992) the shortest-priced favs at $2.25. Incidentally, both were beaten.

17 winners have started at double-figure odds or better since 1983.

Four winners, including the last three, have started at $26 or better. They were River Lad ($31) in 2014, Linton ($26) in 2013, Mid Summer Music ($31) in 2012 and Mr Baritone ($31) in 2008. Black Piranha was $21 when he won his second Stradbroke in 2010, which means five of the last seven editions have been taken out by runners priced $21 or better.


No horse has been successful from barrier 2 or 13 since 1983. However, that was at Eagle Farm.

The ‘winningest’ barrier is 18 with four, La Montagna (2006) being the most recent. Stalls 3, 4, 6 and 12 have three wins a piece.

In the last 32 editions, no runner has ever overcome the outside barrier and won, though River Lad (15/18), Linton (16/18), La Montagna (18/20), St Basil (17/20), Show A Heart (18/20), Never Undercharge (18/20) and Rough Habit (18/20) all overcame wide draws.

The last winner from the inside barrier was Private Steer in 2003. The only other winner from the rails was Rouslan in 1995.


  Chris Munce, Jim Cassidy Steven King, Danny Nikolic, John Marshall and Gary Palmer all won this race twice in the last 32 years. However, the great George Moore was a three time winner (Aqua Regis in 1951, Persian Lyric in 1961 and Kilsherry in 1962).

Damien Oliver 12: 1-1-1, Jim Byrne 13: 1-0-1, Michael Cahill 7: 1-0-0, Luke Nolen 3: 1-0-0, Nick Hall 1: 1-0-0, Larry Cassidy 16: 0-2-0, Brad Stewart 3: 0-1-0 & Damien Browne 3: 0-1-0.


The great Bart Cummings has won this race four times, his last with top class mare Dane Ripper in 1997.

John Wheeler, Danny Duke and Con Karakatsanis are dual winners.

Lee Freedman 15: 1-2-1, John Hawkes 35: 1-2-0, Barry Baldwin 5: 1-1-0, Gai Waterhouse 15: 1-0-3, Peter Moody 4: 1-0-0, Natalie McCall 1: 1-0-0, Rob Heathcote 5: 0-2-0 and Tony Gollan 7: 0-1-0.

General Facts

This $2m Open Handicap over 1400m at Eagle Farm (though over 1350m at Doomben in 2015) dates back to 1890. It is named after Lord Stradbroke, a relative of Henry John Rous, the man behind the weight-for-age scale in thoroughbred racing.


It began as a Principal Race over 1200m, before being extended to 1400m in 1953. The race was elevated to Group 1 in 1980 when taken out by Bemboka Yacht.
  It is regarded as one of the toughest sprints in the country and it suits a strong miler with speed and stamina, rather than a quick runner.
  The honour roll includes; Black Piranha (2010/09), Thorn Park (2004), Show A Heart (2002), Dane Ripper (1997), All Our Mob (1994), Never Undercharge (1993), Rough Habit (1992/91), Campaign King (1988), Daybreak Lover (1986/84), Grey Receiver (1982), Triton (1972), Highland (1926/25) and Gold Tie (1919/18).

View Full Betting Markets