Tatts Stats - JJ Atkins PLate

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the JJ Atkins Plate (1600m)

JJ Atkins Plate (1600m) - Doomben

Saturday, 06 June, 2015

Winners Profile

In the 32 editions since 1983, 15 colts have been successful, the most recent Sizzling in 2012.

The last two editions have been won by geldings, which overall have saluted 12 times since 1983.
•   Five fillies have won, the last being Linky Dink in 2009. 


24 of the 32 winners have come via group racing. Nine won their previous start, while three others were placed.

21 winners have progressed via the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce. Nine horses have successfully completed the Sires/JJ Atkins double, the most recent Sizzling (2012).


Almalad (2014) and Romantic Touch (2013) both won Open 2YO races in Sydney before taking out the JJ Atkins.


Nine favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Romantic Touch ($2.30) in 2013.

Short priced favourites (starting at even money or shorter) have a mixed record, with two winning (Sizzling & Anthems) and two losing (Fravashi & Shame).

20 winners have started at single-figure odds since 1983.

The last outsider to salute was Linky Dink ($26) in 2009, while Zinders was a $51 bolter in 1991.


Barriers 6 and 11 are the most successful producing four winners each since 1983.

No horse has won from gate 1 or 14 in the last 32 editions.

19 winners have come from single digit stalls, including the past eight.

The last winner from the outside barrier was Lovely Jubbly (11/11) in 2002. Chime Zam overcame 16/16 in 1990 and Flotilla 16/17 in 1987.


  Shane Dye, Mick Dittman, Chris Munce, Nash Rawiller, Kerrin McEvoy, Scott Seamer, Darren Beadman and Greg Hall have all won this race twice since 1983.

Tommy Berry 1: 1-0-0, Larry Cassidy 11: 1-1-2, Glen Boss 13: 0-3-1, Hugh Bowman 7: 0-2-0, Damien Oliver 12: 0-1-1, Brad Stewart 2: 0-1-0 & Damien Browne 2: 0-0-1.


After seven attempts for just one second placing, Gai Waterhouse has won the last two editions (9: 2-1-0).

John Hawkes 12: 2-2-3, Clarry Conners 8: 2-1-0, Chris Waller 6: 1-3-1, Peter Snowden 6: 1-0-3, Kelso Wood 4: 1-0-1, Anthony Cummings 4: 1-0-0, John O’Shea 3: 1-0-0 and Robert Heathcote 2: 0-0-0.

General Facts

This $500,000 contest for two-year-olds at set weights over 1600m dates back to 1893, when won by Common.


It was known as the Claret Stakes for almost a century. It has also been named the Castlemaine Stakes and the TJ Smith (after the legendary trainer) in the past. But in 2013, it was renamed the JJ Atkins after the legendary Toowoomba trainer who won every major staying race in the Brisbane area except the Queensland Oaks, where he saddled up seven place-getters.
  The JJ Atkins was a Principal Race until 1980, when it gained Group 2 status. In 1985, the mile classic was elevated to Group 1 and taken out by Tristram’s Edition.
  The honour roll includes; Sizzling (2012), Pressday (2010), Show A Heart (2000), Mossman (1998), Mahogany (1993), Slight Chance (1992), Zedative (1988), Scomeld (1978) and Luskin Star (1977).

View Full Betting Markets