Tatts Stats - UBET BTC Cup

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the UBET BTC Cup (1200m)

UBET BTC Cup (1200m) - Doomben

Saturday, 09 May, 2015

Winners Profile

There has been a pretty even spread of winners since 1983 between horses aged 3, 4 or 5. 
Eleven 3yos have been successful, with the last being Your Song in 2013. Nine 4yos have saluted, the most recent Black Caviar in 2011. Eight 5yos have scored, the last Famous Seamus in 2014.

Just four 6yos or older have won, the most recent was local champ Falvelon in 2003.


Fourteen colts or entires have been successful in 32 editions (the last Your Song in 2013), 13 geldings have taken the prize (most recent Famous Seamus in 2014) and just five fillies or mares (the last Sea Siren in 2012).


All bar three of the 32 winners have come via group racing. Seven won their previous start, while 10 others were placed.

Black Caviar (2011) and Apache Cat (2008) both completed the Group 1 TJ Smith/BTC Cup double. Bentley Biscuit notched the Group 1 All Aged/BTC Cup double in 2007 and Lord Essex won the Group 1 George Ryder at Rosehill before his BTC Cup triumph in 2002.


General Nediym won the Group 1 Newmarket at Flemington before taking out the BTC Cup in 1998 and Accomplice saluted in the Group 1 Galaxy at Randwick ahead of his 1997 success.


11 favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Black Caviar ($1.14) in 2011.

Only four horses have started at even money or shorter, with Black Caviar ($1.14) and Apache Cat ($1.34) getting the job done, while Buffering ($1.72) and Regimental Gal ($1.90) both got rolled.

Five of the last nine winners started at double figure odds, while 23 winners have started at single-figure odds since 1983.

While there have been three winners at $21 (Famous Seamous, Albert The Fat and Gypsy Rogue), the longest-priced winner was Mr Illusion ($41) in 1984.


Barrier 5 is the most successful, producing 5/32 winners since 1983. Gate 4 is next best with four.

No horse has been successful from barrier 11 or 15 in the last three decades.

In the 26 editions boasting fields of 10 or more, 18 winners have come from single digit gates.

The most recent winner from the inside stall was Gee I Jane in 2006.


The last winner from the outside barrier was Staging (12/12) in 1999.


  Local legends Shane Scriven, Mick Dittman, Chris Munce and Neil Williams all won this event twice.

Of the current riders, Luke Nolen has celebrated victory twice (Black Caviar 2011 & Duporth 2009). His overall record is stellar; 3: 2-0-0.


Michael Cahill 7: 1-1-1, Jim Byrne 11: 1-0-1, Damien Browne 6: 1-0-1, Ryan Wiggins 1: 1-0-0, Glenn Colless 12: 0-2-1, Larry Cassidy 8: 0-1-2 & Ric McMahon 2: 0-0-1.


The Bougoures, Doug and Danny, have won this race three times between them since 1983. Danny (3: 2-1-0) was successful twice with Falvelon (2000 & 2003), while his late father Doug (4: 1-0-1) saddled up the mighty Strawberry Road in 1983.

John Hawkes 14: 2-0-1 and Anthony Cummings 4: 2-0-0 are multiple winners of this event.

Gai Waterhouse 5: 1-1-2, Greg Eurell 2: 1-0-1, John O’Shea 4: 1-0-0, Peter Moody 3: 1-0-0, Rob Heathcote 4: 0-0-2, Tony Gollan 7: 0-1-0.

General Facts

This $500,000 WFA contest over 1200m dates back to 1964.


It started out as the J.T. Delaney Quality and has had many named changes over the years, before settling on BTC Cup in 2004.
  It was granted Group 1 status in 2006 when taken out by Gee I Jane.
  The honour roll includes; Black Caviar (2011), Apache Cat (2008), Falvelon 2003/00), General Nediym (1998), Chief De Beers (1996), Barrosa Boy (1992), St. Jude (1991), Broad Reach (1987), Strawberry Road (1983), Ima Shadow (1976), Charlton Boy (1972) and Eye Liner (1967).

View Full Betting Markets