Tatts Stats - Goodwood Handicap

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Goodwood Handicap (1200m)

Goodwood Handicap (1200m) - Morphettville

Saturday, 16 May, 2015

Winners Profile

In the 32 editions since 1983, 15 four-year-olds have been successful, 6 three-year-olds (the last Lone Rock in 2011), 2 five-year-olds and 9 six-year-olds or over.

Geldings have dominated, winning 20 times in three decades, the oldest was Takeover Target (2009). He was a nine at the time.


Only three colts or stallions have been successful, the last being Perfectly Ready in 2006.
  Nine fillies or mares, including four of the last five, have saluted (Platelet the latest in 2013).


All bar two of the 32 winners have come via group racing. Eight won their previous start, while 11 others were placed.

Platelet (2013) and Black Caviar (2012) both completed the Group 1 Robert Sangster/Goodwood Handicap double. Takeover Target notched the Group 1 TJ Smith/Goodwood double in 2009.


Glamour Puss won the Group 3 Sapphire Stakes at Randwick before her Goodwood triumph in 2005. 
  On six occasions, the Group 3 Victoria Handicap has been used as a final lead up, with Keeper the last two complete that double in 2001. Another key build up race is the Group 3 D.C. Mackay Stakes, with Boardwalk Angel the most recent to complete that double in 1989.


Just five favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Black Caviar ($1.05) in 2012.

Black Caviar ($1.05) and Takeover Target ($1.40) are the only two horses to start odds-on in the last three decades. Both saluted.  

19 winners have started at double-figure odds or better since 1983.

Six winners have started at $31 or better. They were Smokin’ Joey ($41) in 2014, Lone Rock ($31) in 2011, Shadoways ($31) in 2008, Let Go Thommo ($31) in 2007, Centisle ($41) in 1995 and Ambala ($61) in 1994.


Barrier 8 is the most successful producing five of the 32 winners since 1983. Gate 7 is next best with four.

No horse has been successful from barrier 2, 3, 14, 16, 18 or 19 in the last three decades.

20 winners have come from single digit gates.

The last winner from the outside barrier was Centisle (20/20) in 1995.


Just two runners have been successful from the coveted inside stall - Velocetia in 2010 and Perfectly Ready in 2006. Incidentally, both horses were trained in Melbourne by Mick Price.


  Local legend John Letts won this race five times between 1961 and 1984.

Victorian Greg Hall had an impressive record in this race (9: 2-3-2). Veterans Darren Gauci and Steven King have won the Goodwood twice, as did the late Ken Russell. Young Victorian Ben Melham has crossed the border three times for two victories (3: 2-0-0)


Stephen Baster 7: 1-2-0, Steven Arnold 15: 1-1-0, Luke Nolen 8: 1-0-0, Jason Holder 11: 1-0-1, Claire Lindop 5: 1-0-0, Brad Rawiller 5: 0-2-1 & Simon Price 17: 0-3-2.


Walter Hickenbotham produced the winner five times in the early 1900s, while George Hanlon saddled up four winners in the 1980s and 90s.

John Hawkes (28: 2-0-2), Mick Price (8: 2-0-0) and Robert Smerdon (6: 2-0-0) are multiple winners.

For some big name trainers, this race has proven to be a holy grail – Mark Kavanagh (10: 0-2-1), Russell Cameron (14: 0-1-1), Lee Freedman (13: 0-1-1), Rob Griffiths (8: 0-1-0), Richard Jolly (11: 0-0-3) and David Hayes (14: 0-0-1).

General Facts

This $500,000 contest over 1200m dates back to 1881 and is run at set weights, plus penalties.


Only two horses have won the Goodwood twice – Mostyn in 1894/95 and Musket Belle in 1911/12.
  It was Principal Race until 1980 when it gained Group 1 status and won by Marjoleo.
  The honour roll includes; Black Caviar (2012), Takeover Target (2009), Glamour Puss (2005), Bomber Bill (2003), Euclase (1992), Royal Gem (1946), Aurie’s Star (1940), Musket Belle (1912/11) and Mostyn (1895/94).

View Full Betting Markets