Tatts Stats - Sydney Cup

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m)

Sydney Cup (3200m) - Randwick

Saturday, 11 April, 2015

Winners Profile

This is clearly a race for older and more seasoned horses. 11 horses aged six or older have been successful in the last 32 editions, with 11 five-year-olds also victorious in this period.

Eight 4yos have won since 1983, with Jessicabeel the most recent in 2010.


Only two 3yos have saluted – Tie The Knot in 1998 and Veloso in 1983.
  Geldings dominate this race, with 23 winners, including 8 of the last 10.
  Five colts or entires have finished in the winner’s stall (with the last being Mourayan in 2013), while only four mares (and no fillies) have taken the honours.
The last female victory was achieved by Jessicabeel in 2010, while triple Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva (2004), Honor Babe (2003) and Palace Revolt (1989) were the others.


All winners came via group racing, with 10 winning & 13 placed in their lead-up run.

19 winners have come through the Group 2 Chairman’s Handicap, with eight completing the Chairman’s/Sydney Cup double, the last being The Offer in 2014.

Six winners have come via the BMW, with only Tie The Knot in 1999 completing the BMW/Sydney Cup double.


In 2007, veteran stayer Gallic completed the Adelaide Cup/Sydney Cup double.


Interestingly, the two successful three-year-olds (Tie The Knot in 1998 & Veloso in 1983) both finished second in the ATC Derby before going one better in the Sydney Cup.


Five of the last seven favourites have been successful, with the most recent The Offer ($3.25) in 2014. Overall, 12 favourites have saluted in the last 32 years.

There have been just four hot favourites (even money or shorter) since 1983, with two getting the job done and two getting rolled.

The last ‘hottie’ to bite the dust was Sydeston ($1.90) who finished fourth behind King Aussie in 1990.

Ten winners have started at double figure odds or better, with the latest being Mourayan ($12) in 2013.


The last ‘bolter’ to get up was Just A Dancer ($41) in 1991. However, Stand To Gain ($21) in 2011, Tyrone County ($15) in 2006, Daacha ($15) in 1995, Cross Swords ($17) in 1994, Palace Revolt ($16) in 1989 and Late Show ($15) in 1985 all won at juicy odds.


Barrier 8 is by far the most successful since 1983 with nine winners. The Offer jumped from stall 8 last year. Gate 2 is next best with four.

27/32 winners have come from single digit barriers.

The last winner from the coveted inside stall was Gallic in 2007.

The most recent runner to overcome the outside barrier was Daacha (18/18) in 1995.


Controversial jockey Shane Dye had a handy record in this event – 15: 2-3-2.

Jim Cassidy has a similar Sydney Cup CV – 15: 2-3-1. Pumper’s two winners were County Tyrone in 2006 and Marooned 20 years earlier.


Kerrin McEvoy 10: 1-2-1, Hugh Bowman 5: 1-0-0, Tommy Berry 3: 1-0-0, James McDonald 2: 0-0-0 & Blake Shinn 4: 0-0-0.


This is a hard race to win, just ask Gai Waterhouse. She’s had 20 attempts for two wins (The Offer in 2014 & Linesman in 1997). Gai’s Sydney Cup record is 20: 3-2-1.

John Hawkes has also won twice (9: 2-0-0). His winners were Niwot in 2012 and Cross Swords in 1994.

John O’Shea goes into the 2015 edition with a perfect record (1/1). In 2010, he saddled his first and only starter Jessicabeel, and the mare duly saluted.

With a record of 6: 1-1-2, Lee Freedman’s sole Cup success in the harbour city was triple Melbourne Cup winner, Makybe Diva, in 2004.


Chris Waller 10: 1-1-0, Kris Lees 6: 1-1-0, David Hayes 8: 1-0-1 & Kim Waugh 2: 1-0-0.

General Facts

This $1m handicap over 3200m dates back to 1862 when won by Talleyrand.


It’s been previously known as the Jockey Club Handicap, the Randwick Grand Handicap and the Sydney Gold Cup.
  The great Kingston Town was the first to win the Sydney Cup as a Group 1 in 1980.
  The Sydney Cup honour roll includes; Makybe Diva (2004), Tie The Knot (1999/98), Count Chivas (1996), Kingston Town (1980), Double Century (1979), Battle Heights (1974), Apollo Eleven (1973), Sailor’s Guide (1956), Rogilla (1933), Wakeful (1902), Carbine (1890/89) and The Barb (1869/68).

View Full Betting Markets