Tatts Stats - Australian Oaks

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m)

ATC Australian Oaks (2400m) - Randwick

Saturday, 11 April, 2015

Winners Profile

This is the premier staying race for three-year-old fillies during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is run over the classic Oaks distance of 2400m.

At set weights, it favours the classier types. Many go on to be stars of the turf and outstanding broodmares like Grand Archway, Triscay and Research.


This is a good filly’s race and usually attracts entries from all around Australia, as well as the best from New Zealand.


All 32 winners since 1983 have come via group racing, with 10 winning & 12 placed at their lead-up run.

14 winners have come through the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes, with three horses completing the Vinery Stud/Oaks double, the last being Heavenly Glow in 2008.

7 winners have come via the Group 3 Adrian Knox, and amazingly, six have completed the Adrian Knox/Oaks double, with the most recent being Chris Waller’s Royal Descent in 2013.


Five fillies have backed up from the Australian Derby against the boys, with the brilliant Research in 1989 the only one to complete the ATC Derby/Oaks double.


Just 10 favourites have been successful since 1983, the last being Streama for the late Guy Walter in 2012.

Hot favourites, starting at even money or shorter, only have a 50/50 record, with three winning and three going down.

The last ‘hottie’ to bite the dust was Lucia Valentina ($1.80) in 2014.

Eight winners have started at double figure odds or better, with the latest being Absolutely ($31) in 2011. Michael Kent’s filly is the longest priced winner in the last 32 editions, with Daffodil ($13) in 2009, Rena’s Lady ($21) in 2007, Coco Cabanna ($16) in 2000, Kenbelle ($15) in 1996, Circles Of Gold ($21) in 1995, Alcove ($13) in 1994 and Starzaan ($16) in 1983 all juicy each way odds.


Barriers 1 & 5 have been the most successful since 1983 with five winners. Gates 3 is the next best with four.

26/32 winners have come from single digit barriers.

The last horse to win from the inside stall was Gai Waterhouse’s Sunday Joy in 2003.

The last horse to jump from the outside barrier, in a field of 10 or more, was Rose Archway (12/12) in 1999, while Serenade Rose (9/9) successfully overcame her wide gate in 2006.


Jim Cassidy (20: 3-3-1), Darren Beadman (18: 3-2-1), Mick Dittman (10: 3-2-1) and Glen Boss (14: 3-0-0) all have ATC Oaks ‘triple treats’.

James McDonald 2: 1-0-0, Hugh Bowman 10: 1-1-0, Kerrin McEvoy 5: 0-2-0, Blake Shinn 2: 0-0-1 & Tommy Berry 2: 0-0-0.


Sydney’s top trainers have the best records in blue ribbon event, with Gai Waterhouse leading the way. Gai’s record is 24: 3-3-2. Her latest success was with Once Were Wild in 2010.

The late Guy Walter also won this race three times (Streama, Wild Iris and Republic Lass) with two seconds and two thirds from 17 attempts.

John Hawkes 16: 1-2-1 (Dizelle 2005) & Chris Waller 4: 1-0-0 (Royal Descent 2013).

After saddling up a second (Flora Danica 2006) and a third place-getter (Lucia Valentina 2014) at his only two attempts, Kris Lees hopes his next runner returns to the winner’s stall.

General Facts

This $1m set weights contest for three-year-old fillies over 2400m dates back to 1885 when won by Uralla.


The distance at various times was 1600m and 2000m, but ever since 1973 it’s been 2400m.
  The race wasn’t held between 1895 and 1921.
  It received Group 1 status in 1980, when taken out by Lowan Star.
  The 100th AJC Oaks was held in 2011 and won by outsider Absolutely ($31), who beat home $3.50 favourite Shamrocker.
  The honour roll includes; Streama (2012), Daffodil (2009), Sunday Joy (2003), Grand Archway (1999), Triscay (1991), Research (1989), Bounding Away (1987), Our Sophia (1985), Surround (1977), Leilani (1974), Light Fingers (1965), Wenona Girl (1961), Evening Peal (1956) and Flight (1944).

View Full Betting Markets