Day Defends World Match Play Title

Picture: Julie Jacobson/AP
Jason Day defends his World Match Play title this weekend. Picture: Julie Jacobson/AP

Most of the world’s top ranked players will line up in the WGC Match Play Championship at San Francisco's TPC Harding Park.

Six of the 16 former champions of the World Golf Championships, including 2014 winner Aussie Jason Day , are among the 64 players who have officially qualified for the event, which boasts overall prize money of $12m, with around $2m reserved for the winner.

In addition to Day, the other former champions who made the original line-up were Henrik Stenson , Ian Poulter , Luke Donald, Hunter Mahan and Matt Kuchar . However, Donald won’t play because his brother is getting married this weekend. He’s been replaced by the next cab off the rank, Miguel-Angel Jimenez . Veteran leftie Phil Mickelson has also withdrawn for personal reasons, with Finland's Miko Ilonen squeezing into the final field.

The other Australians in the event are Adam Scott , Marc Leishman , Matt Jones and John Senden . Our other Match Play champion was Geoff Ogilvy, who won in 2006 and again in 2009.

The field is divided into 16 groups of four players, who will play round-robin matches on the first three days. The player with the best record in each group advances to the Round of 16 for single-elimination match play (in the event of a two-way tie in a group, head-to-head results will be used as the tiebreaker; a three-way tie will require a sudden-death playoff).

Saturday features the round of 16 in the morning and the quarter-finals that afternoon. The semi-finals will be contested Sunday morning, while the championship and consolation matches will be played in the afternoon.


Chris Bombolas - Tatts Senior Writer

Chris Bombolas - Twitter


View Full Golf Markets