Tatts Stats - All Aged Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m)

All Aged Stakes (1400m) - Royal Randwick

Saturday, 18 April, 2015

Winners Profile

Even though three-year-olds (All Too Hard in 2013 & Atlantic Jewel in 2012) have won two of the last three All Aged Stakes, overall that age group has won just six of the last 32 editions.

Four-year-olds have won 10 times, five-year-olds 9 times and horses aged 6yo and above have scored on seven occasions.


Since 1983, 16 geldings have been successful, the last being Hay List in 2011. Eight fillies or mares have enjoyed victory, the most recent being Hana’s Goal in 2014. There have been eight colts or entires salute. All Too Hard is the most recent colt in 2013 and Intergaze the last stallion in 1999.


All winners came via group racing, with eight winning and another 13 placed.

13 of those successful in the last 32 editions came via the Group 1 Doncaster. The last horse to complete the Doncaster/All Aged double was Private Steer in 2004. Another great mare Sunline also completed this double in 2002.

Four horses have come through the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes, with high quality mare Emancipation the most recent to win the Ryder/All Aged double in 1984.


Four horses also came via the Group 1 T J Smith Stakes, with Gai Waterhouse runners Bentley Biscuit (2007) and Shamekha (2005) completing the TJ Smith/All Aged double.
  In 2013, All Too Hard completed the Futurity/All Aged double, while in 1992 Kiwi champ Rough Habit notched the Queen Elizabeth/All Aged double.


Six of the last 10 favourites have saluted, including three at odds-on. Overall, 14 favourites got the job done in the last 32 editions.

Since 1983, there have been 14 hot favourites, starting at even money or shorter. Of those, nine were successful.

The last ‘hottie’ to get rolled was Sunline in 2001, when she finished third to El Mirada and Final Fantasy as the $1.30 favourite.

In the past three decades, just eight runners have started at double-figure odds or better, the most recent being Hana’s Goal ($10) in 2014. This means 24/32 runner have started at single figure odds.


The most recent bolter to get up was El Mirada ($31) in 2001, while Price Of Praise was $51 when taking out the 1994 edition.


Only 12 of the past 32 editions since 1983 have boasted fields of 10 or more, and all 12 winners have come from single digit barriers.

Barrier 7 is the most successful producing nine winners, while gate1 has supplied six. All Too Hard was the last to jump successfully from barrier 7 in 2013, while Altantic Jewel was the most recent winner from the inside stall in 2012.

With fields on the relatively small side, Paratroopers (2006) was the last to jump from an outside barrier (8/8) and win.

No horse has won from a double-digit gate in the last 32 years, with barrier 8 the widest successful starting point, and that's only been achieved once.


Veteran Jim Cassidy has a fantastic record in this event, with three wins and three placings from 10 starts. Pumper’s last success was on Arlington Road for Gai Waterhouse in 2003, while he twice rode John Wheeler’s champ Rough Habit to victory (1993 & 92). Darren Beadman had a similar record; 11: 3-2-1.

Glen Boss, Nash Rawiller, Damien Oliver, Greg Childs, Craig Carmody and Steven King all won this race twice. In fact, King is 2/2.

Hugh Bowman 9: 1-0-2, Blake Shinn 5: 0-1-0, Kerrin McEvoy 5: 0-0-0 & James McDonald 2: 0-0-0.


Even though Gai Waterhouse has won this event four times, her last victory was back in 2007 with Betley Biscuit. Her overall record is; 20: 4-1-3.

Two-time winners include; John Hawkes 15: 2-2-5, Les Bridge 7: 2-1-0, John Wheeler 2: 2-0-0 & Trevor McKee 3: 2-0-1.


Chris Waller 9: 1-1-0, John O’Shea 1: 1-0-0, Mark Kavanagh 1: 1-0-0 & Joe Pride 5: 0-2-1.

General Facts

This $400,000 WFA contest over 1400m dates back to 1865.


Ajax, who gained infamy for being beaten at $1.03 (in a three-horse Rawson Stakes in 1939), is the only triple winner of the All Aged Stakes.
  The honour roll includes All Too Hard (2013), Atlantic Jewel (2012), Hay List (2011), Sunline (2002 & 2000), Rough Habit (1993/92), Emancipation (1984), Tobin Bronze (1967), Tulloch (1958), Bernborough (1946), Ajax (1940/39/38), Peter Pan (1935), Chatham (1934), Wakeful (1902) and Carbine (1890/89).

View Full Betting Markets