Tatts Stats Adelaide Cup

Tatts Stats Banner

Adelaide Cup (32000m) - Morphettville

Monday, 09 March, 2015

Winners Profile

This is generally a race suited to those horses not quite up to Carnival standard in Sydney or Melbourne.

Since losing its Group 1 status in 2007, the quality of horses has dropped somewhat, often making it a wide-open contest.

In the past, a number of turf champions have been successful in this feature event. Lord Reims snared it three times consecutively (1987/88/89), dual Melbourne Cup winner Rain Lover saluted in 1968, Lee Freedman’s Subzero won both the Adelaide and Melbourne Cups in 1992 (a Cups double also completed by Just A Dash in 1981) and Hyperno won the great race on the first Tuesday in November 18-months after his victory in the Adelaide Cup.


In recent years, the Group 3 Lord Reims Stakes has been a solid form race. Rialya (2nd in 2012), Capecover (3rd in 2010) and Lacey Underall (4th in 2008) went on to win the Cup next start.

The last horse to complete the Lord Reims/Adelaide Cup double was Apache King (2001).


Last year, Outback Joe had his final lead up at Flemington finishing third in the Roy Higgins Quality (2600m) before holding off Perth stayer Black Tycoon in the Cup.


Last year, Outback Joe was $7, with $3 favourite Big Memory finishing 11th.

Three of the last four winners have been at double-figure odds – Norsqui $22 in 2013, Rialya $14 in 2012 and Muir $27 in 2011.


In the last decade, barriers 5 & 6 have been the most successful, providing two winners each.

With fields averaging around 18, the last horse to jump from the outside barrier (18/18) was Robert Hickmott’s Muir in 2011.

The most recent winner from the inside gate was Danny O’Brien’s Demerger in 2005.


The last Adelaide-based jockey to win the Cup was Shayne Cahill on Rialya for local trainer Lloyd Kennewell in 2012.

In the last decade, Steven Arnold has won this race twice on Capecover (2009) and Gallic (2007).

Dwayne Dunn has a win and a second, Chris Symonds a win and a third, Claire Lindop a win and a third, Luke Nolen two seconds and a third, Damien Oliver two seconds and Michelle Payne two seconds.


The first female jockey to win was New Zealand's Maree Lyndon on Lord Reims in 1987.


Since the inaugural Cup in 1864 won by Victorian Falcon, interstate trainers have crossed various borders to snatch this time-honoured feature. 

It's been no different in the past decade, a number of raiders have enjoyed successful Adelaide Cup missions including Nigel Blackiston, Robert Hickmott, Patrick Payne, Anthony Cummings, Dan O’Sullivan and Danny O’Brien. 

General Facts

This Group 2 Handicap over 3200m dates back to 1864 (just three years after the Melbourne Cup commenced). The inaugural race was won by a horse called Falcon at Thebarton Racecourse in Mile End. It offered stakes of 500 sovereigns.

The first edition staged at the Morphettville Racecourse was in 1876.

In 1885, the Adelaide Cup was actually held at Flemington due to the Totalizer Repeal Act 1883 (which outlawed gambling on horses), and wasn’t run for another three years.

From 1884 to 1944, the distance was reduced to 2600m before reverting to two-miles again in 1945.

The highest ever Cup attendance was 50,000 in 1951.

The Adelaide Cup lost its Group 1 status in 2007, but still boasts prize money of $400,000.


The honour roll includes Gallic (2007), Bohemiath (2000), Our Pompeii (1994/93), Subzero (1992), Lord Reims (1989/88/87), Just A Dash (1981), Hyperno (1978), Reckless (1977), Rain Lover (1968) and Malua (1884). Malua, or Bagot as he was earlier known, was one of Australia’s most versatile horses having won 12 races at distances ranging from 1100m to 5200m.

View Full Betting Markets