Tatts Stats - Canterbury Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m)

Canterbury Stakes (1300m) - Randwick

Saturday, 07 March, 2015

Winners Profile

11 three-year-olds have won this event since 1983, with Emancipation the only filly successful in that period.

16 four and five-year-olds have won the event.

Just two seven-year-olds have been successful in the past three decades – All Our Mob (1997) and At Sea (1989).
Despite the fact three of the last four winners have been mares, females have only tasted victory on three other occasions.


10 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into the race with winning group form (six others were placed).

Only one winner has come into the event outside group racing (Empire 2002).


18 favourites have saluted since 1983, including three of the last four.

Just four winners in the last three decades have started at double figure odds, the last being Shogun Lodge ($21) in 2001.

The last real bolter to salute was Alishan ($51) in 1992.
The last odds-on favourite to get rolled was Racing To Win ($1.55) in 2008. However, 9 of 13 odds-on favourites have saluted.


With 26 of the last 31 editions boasting fields of nine or less runners, single figure barriers have dominated.

The last horse to win from barrier 1 was Yell in 2004.

The last horse win from the outside gate in a field of nine or more was Appearance (10/10) in 2014.

Gate 6 is the ‘winningest’ barrier having produced nine winners since 1983.


Former jockey Darren Beadman had an incredible record in the race, winning it seven times with another two thirds from 14 rides.

Jim Cassidy has four wins. His record is 15: 4-1-2.

Kerrin McEvoy 4: 1-1-1, James McDonald 2: 0-1-0.


Blake Shinn has nothing show from three rides in the race, while Hugh Bowman's record is 7: 0-2-1.


The Canterbury Stakes is a happy hunting ground for Gai Waterhouse. Australia's 'queen of the turf' has won this event six times with seven minor placings from 21 starters. Her first success was Sprint By in 1996, her last Pierro in 2013.

John Hawkes also has a good strike rate in this race – 24: 4-3-4.
Ron Quinton has saddled up just two runners for a win and a second. 
  Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller is yet to win this Group 1 having prepared 10 runners for just two thirds.

General Facts

This WFA $500,000 event dates back to 1929.

The honour roll includes Pierro (2013), More Joyous (2012/11), Mentality (2008), Dance Hero (2005), Shogun Lodge (2001), Placid Ark (1987), Sir Dapper (1984), Emancipation (1983) and Manikato (1982).

View Full Betting Markets