Tatts Stats - Australian Guineas

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m)

Australian Guineas (1600m) - Flemington

Saturday, 07 March, 2015

Winners Profile

Colts have dominated this event winning 16 of the 29 editions, including the last two via Shamus Award and Ferlax.

Geldings have won 9, the last being Rock Classic in 2010.

Fillies have take out the race four times, the last being Mosheen in 2012.


21 winners had either won or were placed at group level at their previous start (13 winners & 8 place-getters).

With so many winners heading into the Australian Guineas over the years, there have been some interesting doubles. In 1994, Mahogany won this race first up after a spell to complete the Victoria Derby/Australian Guineas double. In 2008, Light Fantastic took out the Group 2 Perri Cutten Cup/Aust Guineas double, while champion filly Miss Finland notched the Group 2 Angus Armanasco/Aust Guineas double in 2007. In 2001, Mr. Murphy went back-to-back in the Group 2 Alister Clark and Australian Guineas, while in 1988, Flotilla resumed from his win at the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival in the Group 1 Castlemaine Stakes as a two-year-old to salute in the Australian Guineas as a three-year-old. 


Three of the last five editions have produced upset results via Ferlax ($17), Shamrocker ($31) and Rock Classic ($17).

The biggest bolter in recent times was Danny O’Brien’s filly Shamrocker, who won at $31 in 2011.

Only four horses at double figure odds or better have won in the last three decades
11 favourites have been successful since 1986 – the last being Light Fantastic ($2.60) in 2008.
 •  The last odds-on favourite to get rolled was Denman ($1.55) in 2010.


Though there have been a number of editions with small fields, just one horse has won from a double figure gate (Moosheen in 2012).

The last horse to win from barrier 1 was Pins in 2000.

Only two horses have overcome the outside barrier to win – Moosheen (16/16) in 2012 and Mouawad (7/7) in 1997.

Barriers 2 and 7 have been the most successful producing six winners each.


Damien Oliver has won this race twice (Mr Murphy in 2001 & Flying Spur in 1996). Overall his record is 18: 2-3-2.

Craig Williams has also won the Australian Guineas twice – Shamus Award (2014) & Miss Finland (2007). Overall his record is 9: 2-1-0.

Noel Callow, Craig Newitt, Darren Gauci and Jim Cassidy each have two victories as well.


David Hayes and Lee Freedman are the ‘winningest’ trainers with three successes each. Hayes (19: 3-2-3) Freedman (15: 3-1-2).

Danny O’Brien, Clarrie Connors, Mick Price and Rick Hore-Lacy have two victories each.

General Facts

This $500,000 mile race at set weights dates back to 1986.

The honour roll includes Shamus Award (2014), Miss Finland (2007), Apache Cat (2006), Mahogany (1994), Triscay (1991) and Zabeel (1990).

View Full Betting Markets