Tatts Stats - TJ Smith Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m)

TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) - Randwick

Saturday, 04 April, 2015

Winners Profile

Since 1997, 5 three-year-olds have been successful, 5 four-year-olds, 2 five-year-olds and 6 six-year-olds or older.

Nine geldings have saluted, seven fillies or mares and only one colt or entire.


With only 18 editions, there are no really clear form lines. However, all winners contested group races at their prior starts, with six winning and another four placed.

Three winners have come via the Group 1 Galaxy, with La Baraka (1998) the last to complete the Galaxy/TJ Smith double.


Three had their previous start in the Group 1 Australia Stakes, with Apache Cat completing the Australia Stakes/TJ Smith double in 2008.


Black Caviar completed the William Reid/TJ Smith double in 2013 & 2011.
In 2014, Lankan Rupee won the Group 1 Newmarket prior to this event.


Just seven favourites have been successful in 18 editions.

Black Caviar twice saluted at long odds-on ($1.14) in 2013 & 2011.

The last ‘shortie’ to get rolled was Alinghi ($1.90) in 2005, while Foxwedge also bit the dust in 2012 at $2.10.

Eight winners have started at double figure odds or better, the last being Master Of Design ($31) in 2012.


The last huge blow-out was Gai Waterhouse’s Phoenix Park ($61) in 2002 when $3.70 favourite Spinning Hill finished third.


The ‘winningest’ barrier is 5 having produced five winners. Gate 4 is next best with three.

No horse has been successful from barrier 3, 8 or 9.

9 of the 18 editions have featured fields of 10 or greater, and from these, six times horses drawn single-digit gates have been successful.

The last two editions have been won by the horses drawn the inside gate.


The last horse to win from the outside gate was Melito (7/7) in 2010, while in 2003 Spinning Hill (11/11) was the last horse to win from the outside barrier where the field contained more than 10 runners. Ironically, Phoenix Park also won from gate 11 the previous year and that’s the widest draw any horse has been successful from.


  Thanks to Black Caviar’s dual victories (2013/11), Luke Nolen has a great record in this race, 3: 2-0-0.

Hugh Bowman 10: 1-1-2, Kerrin McEvoy 7: 1-1-0, Blake Shinn 3: 1-1-0.


This is a rare Sydney feature Jim Cassidy hasn’t won. Pumper’s record is 9: 0-2-1.


In the race named after her legendary father Tommy Smith, Gai Waterhouse has an impressive record, 10: 3-1-2.

Team Hawkes 14: 1-2-1, Joe Pride 10: 1-1-0.

Leading trainers Chris Waller (3: 0-0-1) and John O’Shea (5: 0-1-0) are still chasing their first triumph.

General Facts

This WFA contest over 1200m only has a brief history dating back to 1997.


As part of the Championships series, prize money was boosted from $1m to $2.5m in 2014. 
  It started as the Endeavour Stakes in 1997 and was won by Mahogany.
  The honour roll includes Lankan Rupee (2014), Black Caviar (2013/2011), Takeover Target (2009), Apache Cat (2008) and Mahogany (1997).

View Full Betting Markets