Tatts Stats - Doncaster Mile

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m)

Doncaster Mile (1600m) - Randwick

Saturday, 04 April, 2015

Winners Profile

Three-year-olds have won 15 of the past 32 editions. In that period, just three 4yos, six 5yos and eight horses aged six or above have been successful.

The last three-year-old to salute was Sacred Falls in 2013.


Geldings have won 15 of the last 32 Doncasters, colts & entires 9 and fillies & mares 8.


The last mare successful was Gai Waterhouse’s More Joyous in 2012.
  Only six runners in the last 32 years have carried more than 56kg to victory. 


14 winners since 1983 have come through the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes, with Vision And Power (2009) the last to complete the Ryder/Doncaster double. Others to manage this feat were Haradsun, Racing To Win and Emancipation.

22 of the last 32 winners either won or were placed at group level in their lead-up race (10 winners and 12 placed).


Just 8 favourites have been successful since 1983, with only one in the last seven years.

16 winners have started at double-figure odds or better in the last three decades.

The last favourite to salute was More Joyous ($3.75) in 2012, whilst the shortest priced winner since 1983 was Sunline ($2.10) in 1999.

The last short-priced favourite to get rolled was Lonhro ($2.10) in 2003. He finished fourth behind Grand Armee.


There have been a number longshot winners including; Sacred Falls ($21) in 2013, Patezza ($21) in 2005, Catalan Opening ($34) in 1998, Skating ($21) in 1993, Soho Square ($31) in 1992, Super Impose ($21) in 1990, Merimbula Bay ($34) in 1989, Lygon Arms ($41) in 1988 and Magic Flute ($26) in 1987.

The last ‘absolute bolter’ was Row Of Waves ($101) in 1985 when $3 favourite Avon Angel finished fourth.


In the last 32 editions, no horse has won from barrier 2, 3 or 15.

Barrier 12 in the most successful supplying five winners, with gate 10 next best with four.

With all fields since 1983 being 12 or larger, 20 of the 32 winners have come from double digit gates.

The last horse successful from the outside gate was Patezza (16/16) in 2005.


The last and only runner successful from the inside stall in the past 32 editions was Haradasun in 2007.


  Glen Boss has an outstanding record in this feature mile, winning five times, with his last on Triple Honour for Chris Waller in 2008. His overall record is 17: 5-3-1.

Jim Cassidy 20: 1-1-1, Tommy Berry 4: 1-0-1.


This blue ribbon event has eluded leading Sydney riders Hugh Bowman (9: 0-1-0) and Kerrin McEvoy (8: 0-0-0).


Just like her legendary father TJ Smith who won this race seven times, Gai Waterhouse loves Randwick mile events. She’s had 43 goes at this race for seven wins and eight placings (43: 7-4-4). The first lady of training won four straight Doncasters between 1994 and 1997, and it could’ve been five, but for Bart Cummings’ Catalan Opening nosing out Juggler in 1998.

With four victories from the last seven editions, Chris Waller is building up a pretty good record too (23: 4-2-1).

Joe Pride has saddled up just five starters for two wins – Sacred Choice (2011) and Vision And Power (2009).

Team Hawkes has chased this race for many years with limited success (42: 1-3-2). Their one and only winner was Over, who upset the great mare Sunline in 2000.

Leading trainers Peter Moody (5), David Hayes (11) and Peter Snowden (6) don’t have a winner or placegetter as yet, despite saddling up 22 runners between them.

General Facts

The 2015 edition is the 150th running of the Doncaster Mile.


This $3m handicap over 1600m dates back to 1866.
  In 1892, a record 30 starters lined up for the famous mile.
  There have been a number of dual winners, but Super Impose created history in 1990 and 1991 by becoming the only horse to complete Sydney’s big mile double/double, winning both the Doncaster and Epsom each year.
  The honour roll includes Sacred Falls (2014/13), More Joyous (2012), Haradasun (2007), Sunline (2002/1999), Pharoah (1995/94), Super Impose (1991/90), Emancipation (1983), Gunsynd (1972), Tobin Bronze (1967), Chatham (1934) and Wakeful (1901).

View Full Betting Markets