Tatts Stats - Australian Derby

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m)

Australian Derby (2400m) - Randwick

Saturday, 04 April, 2015

Winners Profile

In the last 32 editions, 17 colts have been success (including the last two), 12 geldings and just three fillies (Shamrocker 2011, Research 1989 & Tristarc 1985).

Five of the last seven winners have come from overseas or interstate.


All winners came via group racing, with 17 winning and 7 placed at their lead-up run.

16 winners have come through the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas with seven completing the Rosehill Guineas/Australian Derby double. Criterion and It’s A Dundeel both achieved this in the last two years.


Seven winners have come via the Group 1 BMW Stakes, with Octagonal the last to complete the BMW/Derby double in 1996.


Six winners have come through the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes, with Spacecraft the last to achieve the Tulloch/Derby double in 2004.


11 favourites have been successful since 1983, including the last two.

Hot favourites, starting at even money or shorter, have an almost perfect record, winning 7 out of 8.  

The only odds-on favourite to get rolled in the last three decades was Gai Waterhouse’s Carnegie Express ($1.70) in 2002. The gelding finished second behind Lee Freeman’s colt Don Eduardo.

Seven winners have started at double figure odds or better, with the roughest being Murray Baker’s Nom Du Jeu ($26) in 2008. Littorio, the $4 favourite, finished third.


Other longshots include Ethiopia ($15) in 2012, Roman Emperor ($15) in 2009, Clangalang ($11) in 2003, Fairway ($13) in 2000, Ivory’s Wish ($13) in 1995 and Tristarc ($15) in 1985.


Barrier 8 has been the most successful since 1983, with seven winners. In fact, gate 8 has provided the winner in three of the last five editions. Gates 1 & 3 are the next best, with four victories each.

24/32 winners have come from single digit stalls.

The last horse to win from the inside gate was Criterion in 2014.

The last horse to jump from the outside barrier was Roman Emperor (16/16) in 2009.


  Of the current riders, Jim Cassidy has the best record, 20: 3-3-1. Pumper’s last success was on board Roman Emperor for Bart Cummings in 2009.

Glen Boss 14: 3-0-0, Hugh Bowman 10: 1-1-0 & James McDonald 2: 1-0-0.


Kerrin McEvoy 5: 0-2-0 & Blake Shinn 2: 0-0-1.


In the last 32 years, Bart Cummings and Lee Freedman have posted four victories each in the ATC Derby.

John Hawkes 20: 3-3-1 & Gerald Ryan 3: 1-0-0.

Joe Pride has saddled up just five starters for two wins – Sacred Choice (2011) and Vision And Power (2009).

Interestingly, this is a race which has eluded a number of leading trainers including; Gai Waterhouse 18: 0-2-2, David Hayes 11: 0-1-0, Anthony Cummings 11: 0-0-0, Peter Snowden 5: 0-2-0, John O’Shea 4: 0-0-1.

General Facts

This $2m staying feature for three-year-olds over 2400m dates back to 1861.


Jockey Thomas Hales won the race six times between 1875 and 1887.
  From 1932 to 1956, geldings were banned from the Derby.
  The honour roll includes It’s A Dundeel (2013), Sky Heights (1999), Octagonal (1996), Mahogany (1994), Naturalism (1992), Durbridge (1991), Research (1989), Beau Zam (1988), Bonecrusher (1986), Tristarc (1985), Strawberry Road (1983), Kingston Town (1980), Dulcify (1979), Tulloch (1957), Peter Pan (1932) and Phar Lap (1929).

View Full Betting Markets