Tatts Stats - The Galaxy

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the $400,000 Galaxy (1100m)

The Galaxy (1100m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 21 March, 2015

Winners Profile

14 three-year-olds have been successful in the last 32 years, with the most recent being Shellscrape in 2010. Six 4yo horses have won, five 5yos and seven horses 6yo and above.

At 7yo, Manuan (2011) is the oldest horse to win this race in the modern era.


Geldings dominate, having won 20 editions, including the last four.
  Only two mares or fillies have been successful in the last three decades, with the most recent being La Baraka in 1998.


All winners in the last 32 editions came via a group race, with just 10 having won or placed at their previous start.

The last & only horse to take winning form into the Galaxy in the last three decades was Jetball in 1994. The Jack Denham trained colt had won the Group 3 Star Kingdom Stakes.


Eight winners have come through the Group 1 Newmarket, while the Challenge Stakes, the Star Kingdom and Canterbury Stakes have also been key lead-ups.


If you are a favourite backer, then this is not the race for you. Just three favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Snowland ($4) for Gai Waterhouse and Chris Munce in 2003. The others were Gold Ace in 1996 and Mr Illusion in 1984.

14 winners since 1983 have started at $10 or better, including the last five.

There has only been one odds-on favourite in the past three decades, with Euclase ($1.70) finishing third behind Schillaci in 1992.
The last bolter to salute was Proprietor ($41) in 2006, although Shellscrape was successful in 2010 at $21.


Barrier 7 is the most successful producing five winners, while gates 1 and 11 have supplied four winners each.

In the last 32 years, 22 winners have come from single figure barriers.

The last runner to leave the inside gate and win was Snowland in 2003.

The last winner to overcome the outside gate (15/15) was Padstow in 2001.


When he comes to Sydney, Melbourne jockey Damien Oliver has always done well in this race, with two wins and four seconds from 10 rides. Ollie’s last success was aboard Magnus for Peter Moody in 2007.

Tim Clark 6: 2-0-0, Kerrin McEvoy 8: 1-1-0, James McDonald 3: 1-0-2.


Leading rider Hugh Bowman is yet to fill the placings in eight goes. Tommy Berry 5: 0-1-0, Blake Shinn 4: 0-1-0.


Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller has enjoyed good success from limited attempts. Waller’s record is 5: 1-1-1.

Gai Waterhouse 13: 1-2-1, John Hawkes 25: 1-2-2, Joe Pride 13: 1-0-2.

General Facts

This $400,000 Open Handicap over 1100m is relatively new on the Australian racing calendar. It dates back to 1972 and became a Group 1 in 1984.


Some of the more high profile winners include Nicconi in 2009, Spark Of Life in 2004, Gold Ace in 1996, Schillaci in 1992 and Luskin Star in 1978.

View Full Betting Markets