Tatts Stats - Rosehill Guineas

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the $500,000 Rosehill Guineas (2000m)

Rosehill Guineas (2000m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 21 March, 2015

Winners Profile

The boys have dominated the race in the last 32 years, with 17 colts and 13 geldings successful.

There have only been two fillies successful in this period – Riverina Charm in 1989 and Spirit Of Kingston in 1985.


Three of the last four editions have been won by colts.


21 of those successful in the past three decades came into this race with a win or placing at group level (11 winners & 10 placed).

13 winners have come through the Group 1 Canterbury Guineas, with five completing the double – the last being Niello in 2004.


Five of the last six winners progressed via the Group 1 Randwick Guineas, with Kiwi It’s A Dundeel the last to complete the double in 2013.


Favourites do not have a great record in this event with only 9 of the last 32 successful, including just three in the past decade.

Interestingly, those horses at double-figure odds or greater have a better strike rate than favourites – 11 winners have started at $10 or better in this period.

While Criterion started at the juicy odds of $13 last year, there have been no absolute bolters in the last 32 editions. Paying $26, Ring Joe’s been the roughest result when upsetting boom fillies Bounding Away and Diamond Shower in 1987.
A number of odds-on favourites have been rolled, including Universal Prince (the last in 2001), Dignity Dancer, Tycoon Lil and Intergaze.


Even though this is a staying race, 25 winners have come from inside barrier ten.

The most successful barrier is 8 with seven wins, while 5 is next best with six.

No horse has won from gate 7 in the last 32 years.

The last horse to win from the inside stall was Zabrasive for John O’Shea and Nash Rawiller in 2010.
  The last horse to overcome the outside barrier (16/16) was Star Of Maple in 1994.


Of the current jockeys, Jim Cassidy and Hugh Bowman have two wins a piece. (Cassidy 22: 2-2-3 & Bowman 11: 2-1-2).

James McDonald 2: 1-0-0, Kerrin McEvoy 4: 0-1-1 and Blake Shinn 5: 0-1-0.


John Hawkes has had 20 goes at this race for three wins, two seconds and four thirds.

Gai Waterhouse 13: 2-1-3.

Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller has just one second placing from five runners, while Peter Snowden’s 10 attempts have failed to produce a winner (two seconds and a third).

General Facts

This $500,000 contest over 2000m dates back to 1910.


The honour roll includes It’s A Dundeel (2013), Tie The Knot (1998), Octagonal (1996), Naturalism (1992), Strawberry Road (1983), Kingston Town (1980), Dulcify (1979), Tulloch (1957), Ajax (1937) and Phar Lap (1929).

View Full Betting Markets