Tatts Stats - Ranvet Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the $500,000 Ranvet Stakes (2000m)

Ranvet Stakes (2000m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 21 March, 2015

Winners Profile

13 four-year-olds have been successful in the last 32 years, with the most recent being Tuesday Joy in 2008. 6 five-year-olds have won and nine horses 6yo and above. Just 4 three-year-olds have been successful, the last being Gold Guru in 1998.

At 8yo, Anthony Cummings’ Zavite (2011) is the oldest horse to win this race in the modern era.


Only five mares have been successful in the last three decades, with the most recent being classy Kiwi Silent Achiever in 2014. No fillies have won.


20 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into this race with a win or placing at group level (11 winners & 9 placed).

19 winners have come through the Group 1 Chipping Stakes, with six completing the double – the last being Theseo in 2010.

Six winners have come through the Group 1 Australian Cup, with Manighar the last to complete the Australian Cup/Ranvet double in 2012. Kiwi Veandercross also notched this double in 1993.


16 favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with the most recent Theseo ($2.85) in 2010.

Between 2005 and 2010, six consecutive favourites were successful, but since then there hasn’t been a winning favourite.

Odds-on favourites have a mixed record in the last three decades with Desert War (2007), Grand Armee (2005), Tie The Knot (2001 & 2000), Veandercross (1993) Super Impose (1991), Beau Zam (1989) and Dalmacia (1983) all successful. However, Northerly (2003), Tie The Knot (2002 & 1999) and Juene (1995) all got rolled at very short odds.
Three longer-priced winners have saluted in the last four editions. Silent Achiever was ($13) in 2014, Foreteller ($31) in 2013 and Zavite ($101) in 2011.
  Overall, 21 winners have started at single-figure odds since 1983.


Barriers 1 and 3 are the most successful producing six winners each, while gate 4 has supplied five winners.

In the last 32 years, 21 winners have come from barriers 1-4 inclusive.

No horse has been successful from barrier 10, but keep in mind only 13 editions since 1983 have featured fields of 10 or more.

With fields on the relatively small side, Silent Achiever was the last to jump from an outside barrier (9/9) and win in 2014. Theseo jumped from 12/12 when successful in 2010.
  The last runner to leave the inside gate and win was rank outsider Zavite in 2011.


Glen Boss has won this event four times. His record is 14: 4-0-2.

Jim Cassidy 20: 3-3-0, Hugh Bowman 10: 1-0-2, Luke Nolen 3: 1-0-0, Blake Shinn 3: 0-1-1, Kerrin McEvoy 4: 0-1-0 & James McDonald 4: 0-0-1.


Gai Waterhouse has a great record in this event; 20: 7-4-2.

Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller has one win and four minor placings from 11 starters.

This race has eluded the experienced John Hawkes – 20: 0-3-4.

General Facts

This $500,000 WFA contest over 2000m dates back to 1903.


The honour roll includes Silent Achiever (2014), Tuesday Joy (2008), Tie The Knot (2001/00), Veandercross (1993), Super Impose (1991), Better Loosen Up (1990), Beau Zam (1989/88), Hyperno (1981), Balmerino (1976), Gunsynd (1973/71), Sky High (1963/62), Tulloch (1958), Bernborough (1946) and Lough Neagh (1937/36/33).

View Full Betting Markets