Tatts Stats - Golden Slipper

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the $3.5m Golden Slipper (1200m)

Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 21 March, 2015

Winners Profile

This is a race in which the girls are very competitive against the boys. Overall, it is 18-14 to the boys since 1983. However, when you break it down further, 14 fillies (including the last two) have been successful, 13 colts and just five geldings.

The last colt to win was Gai Waterhouse’s Pierro in 2012, while the most recent gelding was Queenslander Phelan Ready in 2009.


28 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into this race with a win or placing at group level (20 winners & 8 placed).

8 winners have come through the Group 2 Reisling Slipper Trial or Moet & Chandon Stakes as it is now known, with Overreach the last to complete the double in 2013.

 6 winners have come via the Todman Stakes, with Pierro (2012) the last to complete that double.

 5 winners have come via the Pago Pago Stakes, with Stratum the most recent to notch the Pago Pago/Slipper double in 2005.

In 2008, Sebring won the Slipper despite not having had a start in 49 days following his victory in the listed Breeders Plate.


Despite winning two of the last four editions, favourites have a poor record with only six saluting since 1983. Overreach was the last successful fav in 2013.

Favourite backers had a shocking run following Courtza’s ($4.50) victory in 1989. For the next 18 years, favourites failed to find the winner’s stall until Sebring ($6) in 2008.

The two longest priced winners since 1983 were Phelan Ready in 2009 and Flying Spur in 1995. Both started at $26.
For those who are prepared to take short odds, the Slipper really sinks the boot into those runners who have started in the red. There have only been two odds-on favourites in the last 32 years, Alinghi ($1.70) in 2004 and Bold Promise ($1.90) in 1991. Both got rolled.


Barrier 1 is the most successful producing seven winners since 1983, including three of the last five. Overreach was the last winner from the inside stall in 2013.

18 of the last 32 years have seen winners come from single figure barriers.

No horse has been successful from stalls 4, 9 or 13 since 1983.

With all fields containing 13 or more runners since 1983, the last horse to win from the outside barrier (16/16) was Phelan Ready in 2009. No other runner has overcome the visitor’s gate.


Shane Dye and Ron Quinton have both slipped on four slippers each. In fact, Dye had a fantastic Golden Slipper CV (15: 4-2-4).

Jim Cassidy 21: 1-2-4, Kerrin McEvoy 7: 1-2-0, Tommy Berry 4: 1-0-0, James McDonald 3: 1-0-0.

The Slipper definitely hasn’t fit Hugh Bowman. He’s had 11 attempts for just one third.


The Smith family certainly enjoys the event. The legendary T.J. won it six times and his daughter, Gai Waterhouse, has donned the Slipper five times. Her record is 35: 5-3-6.

Lee Freedman collected four straight with Bint Marscay, Danzero, Flying Spur and Merlene from 1993 to 1996, while Clarrie Conners also has two-pairs of slippers (Tierce in 1991, Burst in 1992, Prowl in 1998 & Belle Du Jour in 2000).

The experienced John Hawkes loves to give this race a shake having saddled up 40 runners. His record is 40: 3-3-2.

John O’Shea 11: 0-0-1 and Gerald Ryan 13: 0-1-0.

General Facts

This $3.5m contest is the world’s richest race for two-year-olds. When it began in 1957 the prize money was 20,000 pounds.


In 2015, the winning connections will collect $2m in stakes, while second place is worth $620,000 and third $310,000.

The first to wear the Golden Slipper was Todman (1957). The honour roll also includes some other legends of the turf like Vain (1969), Luskin Star (1978), Marscay (1982), Sir Dapper (1983), Bounding Away (1986), Miss Finland (2006) and Pierro (2012).

View Full Betting Markets