Tatts Stats - George Ryder Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the $1m George Ryder Stakes (1500m)

George Ryder Stakes (1500m) - Rosehill

Saturday, 21 March, 2015

Winners Profile

12 three-year-olds have been successful in the last 32 years, with the most recent being Gai Waterhouse’s Pierro in 2013. 7 four-year-olds and 7 five-year-olds have won in this period.

Six horses aged 6yo and above have won the George Ryder, including five of the last 6 (Gordon Lord Byron, Metal Bender, Rangirangdoo, Danleigh and Vision And Power).


No filly or mare has been successful since Heat Of The Moment in 1986. The only other female to win was Emancipation in 1984 and 1983.
  Since 1983, 16 geldings have stood in the winner’s stall, 7 colts, 6 entires, two fillies and one mare.


22 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into this race with a win or placing at group level (12 winners & 10 placed).

Eight winners have come through the Group 2 Canterbury Stakes, with Pierro the last to take out the Canterbury Stakes/George Ryder double in 2013.

Six winners have come via the Chipping Norton Stakes, with Lonhro the most recent winner of the Chipping Norton/Ryder double in 2003.


Four winners have come through the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap, with three coming via the Group 1 Futurity. The last to complete the Futurity/Ryder Stakes double was Mouawad in 1997.


Four of the last six editions have been won by horses at double figure odds. However, only another five runners at $10 or better have been successful.

Favourites haven’t got a fantastic record, with only nine saluting in 32 years. Other than Pierro which was at ridiculously short odds ($1.35) in 2013, the last backable favourite was was Danleigh ($4.50) in 2010. Be warned that three odds-on favourites have also bitten the dust (with four others successful).

23 horses at single figure odds have won.
There have long-shots occasionally – Gordon Lord Byron ($21) in 2014, Metal Bender ($15) in 2012, Danleigh ($15) in 2011, Landsighting ($16) in 2001, Al Mansour ($26) in 2000 and March Hare ($26) in 1995. However, the longest-priced winner in the past three decades was Ravarda ($41) in 1996.


Barriers 1 and 6 are the most successful producing six winners each, while no horse has won from gates 8, 9, 10 or 11.

Of the 19 editions boasting 10 or more runners, 15 winners (including the last six) have come from single digit barriers.

The last runner to leave the inside gate and win was Rangirangdoo in 2011.

The last horse to win from the outside gate (in a field of 10 or more) was Al Mansour (12/12) in 2000. March Hare in 1995 and Hula Drum in 1985 came from 13/13.


Darren Beadman had a good record in this event; 15: 3-4-2.

Jim Cassidy 20: 2-4-2, Corey Brown 9: 3-0-2, Glen Boss 14: 2-3-1, Hugh Bowman 11: 2-1-2, Blake Shinn 3: 0-0-0, James McDonald 3: 0-0-0 & Kerrin McEvoy 4: 0-0-0.


John Hawkes has had many attempts on this race. His record is 23: 3-7-2.

Premier Sydney trainer Chris Waller has three wins and two thirds from 18 starters.

Gai Waterhouse 24: 1-2-2, John O’Shea 2: 1-1-0, Joe Pride 4: 1-0-0, Peter Snowden 2: 0-0-0.

General Facts

This $1m WFA contest over 1500m dates back to 1903.


The honour roll includes Pierro (2013), Weekend Hussler (2008), Lonhro (2004/03), Schillaci (1993), Campaign King (1988/87), Emancipation (1984/83), Manikato (1980/79), Dalrello (1975), Triton (1972) and Baguette (1971).

View Full Betting Markets