Tatts Stats - Newmarket Handicap

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m)

Newmarket Handicap (1200m) - Flemington

Saturday, 14 March, 2015

Winners Profile

11 three-year-olds have been successful in the last 32 years, with the last being Shamexpress in 2013.

Mares only have a fair record with eight females saluting. The last mare to win was Black Caviar in 2011, while the last filly was Alinghi in 2005.


10 four-year-olds have saluted in the last three decades and 7 five year-olds.


Just 4 horses aged six and over have won – the oldest being Toledo who was a 7yo when he scored in 2001.


18 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into this race with a win or placing at group level (11 winners & 7 placed).

12 winners have come through the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate and seven through the Group 1 Lightning Stakes.


Lankan Rupee was the last to complete the Oakleigh Plate/ Newmarket double in 2014, while Black Caviar notched the Lightning/Newmarket double in 2011.


Schillaci (1992) and Placid Ark (1987) are the only two horses to complete the Group 1 Melbourne Sprint Triple Crown by taking out the Newmarket after earlier success in the Lightning Stakes and Oakleigh Plate.


10 favourites have saluted since 1983, including five of the last 10.

All three odds-on favourites (Black Caviar in 2011, Weekend Hussler in 2008 & Alinghi in 2010) won.

50 percent of the winners (16) in the last 32 editions have started at double figure odds or better.

While the likes of Shamexpress, Wanted, Scenic Blast, Belle Du Jour, Rubitano and Toledo all started at juicy odds, the last real bolter to salute was Mookta ($34) in 1994.


The last short priced favourite to get rolled was Hareeba ($2.00) who finished second to All Our Mob in 1995.


The last three winners have come out of double figure barriers. In fact, 15 of the last 32 winners have started from gate 10 or wider.

With all editions since 1983 boasting fields of 10 or greater, the last horse to jump from the extreme outside and win was Brawny Spirit (21/21) in 1996.

The last runner to leave the inside gate and win was Shaftesbury Avenue for Bart Cummings in 1991.

In the last three decades, no horse has jumped from barriers 6 or 13 to win.


The ‘winningest’ gate is 7, with five victories.


  The Schofields, Glyn and Chad, are 2/2 in this race. Dad, Glyn, won on Hay List in 2012 at his first ride in the dash down the Flemington 'straight six' and his son, Chad, did the same two years later aboard Lankan Rupee.  

Damien Oliver has won this event three times (Alinghi 2005, Toledo 2001 & Schillaci 1992). His overall record is 20: 3-3-1.

Craig Newitt 10: 2-1-2, Luke Nolen 10: 2-1-0, Steve Arnold 7: 1-0-1, Brad Rawiller 3: 1-0-0.


The legendary Bart Cummings has won this race 8 times, starting with Crown in 1972 through to Shaftesbury Avenue in 1991.

Lee Freedman supplied 20 runners for three wins (Miss Andretti 2007, Alinghi 2005 & Schillaci 1992) and two thirds.

Peter Moody 17: 2-2-0 (Black Caviar & Wanted) & David Hayes 19: 1-1-1 (Grandiose 1989).

General Facts

This Open Handicap over 1200m worth $1m dates back to 1874.


Razor Sharp (1982/81) was the last horse to win this race twice, with Correct, Gothic and Aspen the only others to achieve that feat.


The honour roll includes Black Caviar (2011), Scenic Blast (2009), Weekend Hussler (2008), Miss Andretti (2007), Takeover Target (2006), General Nediym (1998), Schillaci (1992), Placid Ark (1987), Razor Sharp (1982/81), Bernborough (1946), Ajax (1938) and Heroic (1926).

View Full Betting Markets