Tatts Stats - Australian Cup

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m)

Australian Cup (2000m) - Flemington

Saturday, 14 March, 2015

Winners Profile

This is generally an older horse's race with only 3 three-year-olds successful in the past 32 years, the last being Super Cool in 2013.

No fillies have saluted since 1983 and just five mares, the last being triple Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva in 2005.


11 four-year-olds have saluted in the last three decades.


At 8yo, Zipping (2010) is the oldest to win since 1983.


23 of those successful in the last 32 editions came into the race with a win or placing at group level (17 winners & 6 placed).

17 winners have come through the St George Stakes and six through the T.S. Carlyon Cup. 


Just 10 favourites or equal favourites have saluted since 1983.

Prior to last year when Fiorente won at $1.90, the previous favourite to salute was Lohnro ($2) in 2004.

8 winners in the last three decades have started at double figure odds, the last being Niconero ($13) in 2009.
The last real bolter to salute was Roman Arch ($51) in 2006. The other shock winner was Beau Dandy who scored at $126 when upsetting Vo Rogue ($2) in 1988.
 •  The last odds-on favourite to get rolled was Theseo ($1.80) in 2009.


With nine editions in the past 32 years featuring fields of less than ten, 17 of the 23 versions boasting ‘bigger’ fields have been won by horses starting from single digit barriers.

In the last three decades, no horse has jumped from the outside (in fields of 10 or more) and won. In fact, the last horse successful from the outside gate was Northerly (7/7) in 2003.

No horse since 1983 has won from barrier 1 or 11.

Gates 2, 5, 7 & 8 have supplied four winners each.


Tom Hales won this event eight times between 1875 and 1890.

Former jockey Darren Beadman had just five rides in this race for three victories – Lonhro (2004), Saintly (1996) and Let’s Elope (1992).

Damien Oliver has won this event just once from 15 rides (Fiorente). Ollie also has three seconds and four thirds.


Glen Boss 11: 1-2-1, Craig Williams 11: 1-2-0, Luke Nolen 5: 1-1-0, Michael Rodd 4: 1-1-0 & Nick Hall 3: 1-0-1.


The legendary Bart Cummings has won this race an incredible 13 times, starting with Arctic Coast in 1968 right up to Sirmione in 2008.

Lee Freedman and David Hayes have both saddled up 19 runners for similar returns. Freedman 19: 2-1-6, Hayes 19: 2-1-4.

Mark Kavanagh has a 100 per cent strike rate, preparing two runners for two wins (three-year-old Super Cool in 2013 & Melbourne Cup winner Shocking in 2011).

John Hawkes 9: 2-1-1, Gai Waterhouse 8: 1-2-1, Peter Moody 4: 1-0-0, Robbie Laing 2: 1-0-0, Mick Price 9: 1-0-0 and Robert Smerdon 2: 0-1-1.

General Facts

This $1m WFA event over 2000m dates back to 1863.


The honour roll includes Shocking (2011), Makybe Diva (2005), Lonhro (2004), Northerly (2003/01), Octagonal (1997), Saintly (1996), Let’s Elope (1992), Better Loosen Up (1991), Vo Rogue (1989/90), Bonecrusher (1987), Ming Dynasty (1980/78) and Leilani (1975).

View Full Betting Markets