Tatts Stats - Futurity Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m)

WFA Futurity Stakes (1400m) - Caulfield

Saturday, 28 February, 2015

Winners Profile

In the last 32 editions, three-year-olds have won 13 times, including 8 of 9 between 1997 and 2004. The last three-year-old to win was All Too Hard in 2013. While this is the most successful age group, no fillies have won in this period.

In the last three decades, only four mares have been successful – More Joyous (2011), Typhoon Tracy (2010), Aqua D’Amore (2007) and Mannerism (1992).
  Older horses have enjoyed some success via King Mufhasa (2012), Niconero (2008), Fields Of Omagh (2006), Schillaci (1995), Redelva (1991) and Manikato (1983), who were all aged six or above.


The last five winners came into the race with winning form (four of those at Group 1 level).

12 of the past 32 Futurity winners had their previous run in the CF Orr, with 7 coming via the Lightning Stakes.


Four three-year-olds completed the Australian Guineas/Futurity double (Reset 2004, Dash For Cash 2002, Mr Murphy 2001 and Mouawad 1997).


14 of the last 32 editions have seen favourites salute, including four of the last five.

The last horse to win at double figure odds was Rustic Dream ($16) in 1999. In fact, wipe outs are rare in this event with only three winners in the last three decades starting at better than double figure odds.


27 of the past 32 winners have jumped from single figure gates. However, on 17 occasions there have been less than 10 starters in the event.

Barrier 7 is the ‘winningest’ with seven victories, followed by 1 & 10 with five wins each.

No horse has won from barrier 3.

The last horse to win from the outside gate in a field of 10 or more was Schillaci in 1993 (10/10).

The last horse to salute from the inside gate was More Joyous (2011) for Gai Waterhouse and Nash Rawiller.


Of the current jockeys, Damien Oliver has a 50 per cent rides to wins/placings strike rate (16: 3-2-3). Ollie’s first was Mannerism in 1992, his latest Mr Murphy in 2001.

Craig Williams 7: 2-1-0, Luke Nolen 6: 2-0-0, Dwayne Dunn 4: 1-0-1, Kerrin McEvoy 3: 1-0-0.


Glen Boss has just one third placing from six rides in the race.


Of the current crop, veteran Clarrie Connors has a perfect record of two from two with Encounter and Mouawad winning successive Futurity Stakes in 1998 and 1997.

David Hayes 19: 4-1-4, Lee Freedman 16: 4-1-1, Peter Moody 8: 2-0-0, Gai Waterhouse 5: 2-0-0 & Mick Price 10: 1-4-1.

General Facts

Champion sprinter Manikato won this race four times (1983, 81, 80 & 79).

This $500,000 event dates back to 1897 and some of our turf legends feature on the honour roll – Phar Lap (1930), Ajax (1940/39/38), San Domenico (1952), Todman (1960), Gunsynd (1972), Vo Rogue (1988), Schillaci (1993/95), Fields Of Omagh (2006) and More Joyous (2011).

View Full Betting Markets