Tatts Stats - CF Orr Stakes

Tatts Stats Banner
Tatts Stats for the CF Orr Stakes

WFA CF Orr Stakes (1400m) - Caulfield Saturday 14 February 2015

Winners Profile

Five-year-olds have a solid recent record in this event, having won five of the past 11 editions, including last year (Moment Of Change).

Three-year-olds dominated in the late 1990s and early 2000s, winning six straight from 1998 to 2003. Champion galloper All Too Hard was the last three-year-old successful in 2013 (the first since the golden run for that age group).

Seven mares have won this event since 1983, the last being the great Black Caviar in 2012.

This is a good horse’s race with the likes of All Too Hard, Black Caviar, Typhoon Tracy, El Segundo, Elvstroem, Lonhro, Redoute’s Choice, Saintly, Jeune, Durbridge, Let’s Elope and Vo Rogue all winners of the CF Orr Stakes.


Ten of the last 32 winners have come through the Australia Stakes, while three of the past eleven winners contested the Group 1 Cox Plate at their previous start.

In the last three decades, 24 CF Orr winners came into the event having won or placed at at group level at their previous start (13 winners, 8 seconds & 3 thirds).


Favourites have won the last five editions, including Black Caviar at $1.05. In fact, favs have been first past the post 19 times in the last 32 Orr Stakes.

The last outsider to win was Shinzig ($26.00) in 2008.


Barriers 1, 4 & 5 have been the most successful in the last three decades, producing six winners each. The last winner from gate 1 was Typhoon Tracy (2010), gate 4 was El Segundo (2007) and gate 5 was Moment Of Change (2014).

The last horse to salute from the outside gate was All Too Hard (9/9 in 2013), while Elvstroem (15/15) was even further out in 2005.


Michael Clarke has an enviable record in the race – 12 rides for five wins, two seconds and one third. His last success came in 1991 on Planet Ruler for David Hayes.

Of the current crop, Luke Nolen has four victories (from eight rides) thanks to his association with Peter Moody. In fact, Nolen has piloted four of the last five winners of this event.

Two others have also won this race three times – Darren Beadman (Lonhro, Redoute’s Choice & Saintly) and Cyril Small (Vo Rogue x3).


Peter Moody has won the CF Orr Stakes four times from 11 runners. He’s been successful with Moment Of Change (2014), Black Caviar (2012) and Typhoon Tracy (2011 & 2010).

Lee Freedman has three victories (Perfect Promise 2006, Barkada 2002 & Durbridge 1993), while the late Vic Rail also enjoyed a ‘triple treat’ with Vo Rogue (1988, 89 & 90).

General Facts

The $400,000 CF Orr Stakes dates back to 1925.

Some of the turf stars on the honour roll include Black Caviar (2012), El Segundo (2007), Elvstroem (2005), Lonhro (2004), Redoute’s Choice (2000), Juene (1995), Durbridge (1993), Let’s Elope (1992), Vo Rogue (1990/89/88), Manikato (1981/80/79), Tobin Bronze (1967), Lord (1960/59), Rising Fast (1956) and Comic Court (1951).

View Full Betting Markets