Moir Stakes Stats

Image Petch/News Ltd
Queenslander Buffering is chasing a third Moir Stakes at Moonee Valley Friday night. Image Petch/News Ltd

Moir Stakes (1000m) - Moonee Valley

Friday, 02 October, 2015

Winners Profile

Three and four-year-olds have the best record in this race, with each age group notching 10.5 wins (dead-heat in 1989) in the 32 editions since 1983. Six-year-olds and older have 7 victories, while five-year-olds have notched just 4 wins.

There is a pretty even spread in the type of horse successful – geldings have saluted 12.5 times (Buffering the most recent in 2014), fillies and mares have 12 victories (the latest Samaready in 2013), while colts and entires have 7.5 wins (the last California Dane in 2006).


All bar one of the 32 winners since 1983 have come via group racing. Ten, including three of the last five, won their previous start, while six others were placed.

Ten winners have come via the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes, with the great mare Black Caviar completing the Schillaci/Moir double in successive years (2010/11).


Class WA sprinter Placid Ark notched the Rupert Steele/Moir double in 1987.


Nine favourites have saluted in the last 32 editions, with six of those odds-on. Overall, 11 runners have started at even money or shorter, with seven successful (the last being Buffering at $2.00 in 2012).

The last ‘shortie’ to go under was Lankan Rupee ($1.53) in 2014.

25.5/32 winners have started at single-figure odds since 1983.

The longest priced winner in the past three decades was Aquilone ($41) in 1985, while the last double-figure odds winner was Our Egyptian Raine ($13) in 2003.


Barrier 3 is the most successful producing 7 of the 32 winners since 1983. Next best are gates 2 & 7 which have netted five wins each.

No horse has been successful from barrier 10 in the last three decades.

Of the 10 editions boasting fields of 10 or more, the last horse to win from the outside gate was Schillaci (13/13) in 1992.

The most recent winner from the coveted inside marble was Our Egyptian Raine in 2003.


  Damien Oliver has enjoyed great success in this event. Ollie’s record is 14: 4-2-2, with his latest victory on Apache Cat in 2009 (his first was on Schillaci in 1992).


Craig Newitt 8: 2-2-1, Luke Nolen 7: 2-1-1 and Steven King 8: 2-2-1 are multiple winners of this race, while Shane Dye, Nash Rawiller and Michael Clarke all enjoyed success as well.
   Steven Arnold 6: 1-1-1, Craig Williams 5: 1-0-1, Dwayne Dunn 3: 0-1-0 & Mark Zahra 2: 0-1-0.


In the last 32 years, Lee Freedman has the best record; 8: 3-2-1.

Peter Moody 6: 2-2-0, Rick Hore-Lacy 5: 2-1-1, Rob Heathcote 3: 2-1-0 & Mick Price 8: 1-2-2.

For some well-known trainers, this race has proved a difficult assignment – David Hayes 5: 0-0-1 and Gai Waterhouse 4: 0-0-1.

General Facts


This $450,000 WFA contest over 1200m is relatively new on the Australian racing calendar and only dates back to 1976 when won by Scamanda.


The Moir, or Schweppes Stakes as it was previously known, started out as a Principal Race, before gaining Group 2 status in 1979. In 2013, it became a Group 1 and was taken out by Our Egyptian Raine.
 •  The honour roll includes; Buffering (2012/14), Black Caviar (2010/11), Apache Cat (2009), Miss Andretti (2007), Falvelon (2000), Schillaci (1992), With Me (1990/91), Placid Ark (1987), Special (1986) and Manikato (1982).


View Full Betting Markets