Aussie Soccer On Show In FFA CUP

Brisbane Roar is one of 600 clubs competing in the inaugural FFA Cup.

The FFA Cup is a national knockout tournament run by the FFA in conjunction with the State and Territory Member Federations in Queensland, NSW, Northern NSW, Victoria, ACT, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia. Each and every cup tie must be decided on the day, with extra time and penalties to decide results of matches drawn after 90 minutes. Over 600 clubs will play in the feeder competitions run by the states and territories. The Hyundai A-League clubs join the competition in the Round of 32, alongside 22 clubs who have progressed from the ranks of the semi-professional and amateur tiers. The 2014 FFA Cup final will be played on Tuesday 16 December.

Each state and territory is allocated a number of places in the Round of 32, based on the number of registered players in each jurisdiction. Each state and territory decides the qualification route. For example, in some states, this will be the winner of the state-based knock-out cup. In other states, all semi-finalists will qualify.

There will be a minimum of 10 matches broadcast on Fox Sports. One (1) Round of 32 Match, two (2) Round of 16 Match, and all Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and the FFA Cup Final. The first FFA Cup match broadcast live on Fox Sports will be on the opening night on Tuesday 29 July 2014. All broadcast matches will kick off at 7.30pm.

The Draw Principles aim to give grassroots clubs an even chance to be giant-killers against the elite of the Hyundai A-League. This is the essence of the FFA Cup. Therefore, the Draw Principles seek to enable fixtures between A-League and semi-pro and amateur clubs throughout the draw. In addition, the Draw Principles balance the vagaries of different season schedules between the professional tier (predominantly summer) and the non-professional tiers (predominantly winter). Further, the Draw Principles take into account the impact of Hyundai A-League finals and Asian Champions League commitments.

Consideration has been given to season phasing and providing each Club with the best opportunity to compete at full strength. This seeding for the Round of 32 provides Hyundai A-League Clubs with some certainty in order to plan pre-season schedules around FFA Cup matches. Appreciating this is a period when Hyundai A-League Clubs generally do not play competitive matches, it also ensures there is an equality of off-season across all 10 Hyundai A-League Clubs, as those Clubs who play later in the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League Finals Series are seeded into the later Round of 32 matches in order to maximise player availability during the traditional off-season.

The Draw Principles provide for at least one Member Federation Club to qualify for the 2014 FFA Cup Semi Finals. It is important that the FFA Cup is differentiated from existing competitions and provides a genuine opportunity for grassroots and NPL clubs to compete on the national stage. Member Federation Club(s) that progress to the FFA Cup Semi-Finals will have earned their birth. In order for a Member Federation Club to qualify for the Semi Final of the FFA Cup, the Club would have already had to, firstly, qualify via their relevant State Cup and, secondly, win three FFA Cup Final Round Matches.

As a Club licensed by FFA to participate in the Hyundai A-League Club, Wellington Phoenix should be afforded the same opportunity as other Hyundai A-League Clubs to play in the FFA Cup. As a professional club, Wellington Phoenix is not able to play in New Zealand Football’s Chatham Cup. In accordance with FIFA Regulations, Wellington Phoenix’s participation in the FFA Cup has been approved by FIFA, the AFC, the OFC and New Zealand Football. Wellington Phoenix will play all FFA Cup matches in Australia.

View Full FFA Cup Markets