Tour Championship

Picture: Sam Greenwood/Getty Images
Tiger Woods has won five tournament wins in 2013. Picture: Sam Greenwood/Getty Images
A crack field of 30 is set to contest The Tour Championship starting on Thursday night, with every player still in contention for a $10 million bonus that goes to the player on top of the FedExCup standings at the conclusion of the event. Tiger Woods  goes to the par-70 East Lake Golf Club as the FedExCup leader and is one of five players assured of finishing the season at the top of the standings if he is successful, alongside Henrik Stenson , Adam Scott , Zach Johnson  and Matt Kuchar .

Woods has won on the PGA Tour five times this season but has gone four events without a victory leading into this tournament, the longest winless drought that he has endured all season. The world number one has a great record at East Lake however, with a win (2007) three seconds and a tie for eighth from his past five visits to the course.

Another player with a good record in Atlanta is Englishman Luke Donald , who returned to form by shooting closing rounds of 67 and 66 to finish in a tie for fourth at the BMW Championship last week. Although he is yet to win here, he has finished in the top three in his last three starts at the course.

Adam Scott and Jason Day  are the only Australians in the field, with Masters champion Scott set to collect the $10 million purse if he can win the event. Although he won here in 2006, the Queenslander has failed to perform at East Lake recently, with just one top 15 finish at the course (T6 2011) since that success. Since winning the Barclays last month, Scott has failed to finish in the top 25 at two subsequent starts on the tour and doesn’t appear to be at his best. Day will have high hopes here however, after finishing in a tie for fourth at Conway Farms last week, while he placed in a tie for sixth when he last played at this course two years ago. Day  could be worth a speculative bet to beat Scott in their head-to-head market.

Click here to bet on The Tour Championship