Brownlow Medal

Source: Getty Images/
Dan Swan won the Brownlow Medal in 2011. Source: Getty Images/

Gary Ablett  could become just the thirteenth player to win multiple Brownlow Medals when the 2012 winner is announced at Crown Casino on Monday, September 24. The Gold Coast Suns skipper has had another stellar year for the competition strugglers and his remarkable form could see him become the first player since Shane Crawford in 1999 to win the prestigious award playing for a club that finished outside the top eight. Ablett has been amongst the most prolific vote getters in recent years, having won the medal in 2009, finished 2nd in 2010 and 3rd in 2008.

Richmond starlet Trent Cotchin  and inspirational Essendon leader Jobe Watson  are other players likely to have polled well despite not being involved in the finals. Watson’s Bombers started the year with eight wins from their opening nine matches and he is likely to be in contention for Round 10 leader  having collected a lot of votes in those wins. While the Tigers won only 10 matches in 2012, Cotchin was amongst their best players and he is expected to poll well, but could have votes taken off him by the likes of Brett Deledio and Ivan Maric, who also excelled this season.

Scott Thompson  and Patrick Dangerfield  drove the Adelaide Crows to a second placed finish on the ladder and are sure to have collected many votes between them. Both have legitimate claims to becoming just the second player from the club to take ‘Charlie’ home, after Mark Ricciuto was involved in a three-way tie for the award in 2003.

Last year’s winner Dane Swan  had another good year but missed four matches through injury, while former Hawthorn skipper Sam Mitchell  is another that could figure. Despite being ineligible last year, he collected the second most votes (30) and starred in many of the Hawks 17 regular season wins. 

Click here to bet on the Brownlow Medal Winner 
Click here to bet on Brownlow Medal Round 10 Leader
Click here to bet on Brownlow Exotics