British Grand Prix

Alonso won the 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix. Picture: The Cahier Archive/
Fernando Alonso won the European Grand Prix on June 24. Picture: The Cahier Archive/
Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso  will bid to extend his lead in the driver’s championship when he lines up in the British Grand Prix on Sunday night (AEST). The Spaniard will go to Silverstone full of confidence, having won the European Grand Prix two weeks ago. He is no stranger to success at Silverstone, have won their last year after also claiming the race in 2006.

Local favourite Lewis Hamilton  recorded a home success in 2008 and will be looking to notch his second win of the season, as will countryman Jenson Button  and reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel , who looked set for victory at the European Grand Prix before being forced to retire with mechanical problems when looking the most likely winner.

Australian Mark Webber  won here in 2010 and has finished in the top three in each of the past three years, while former world champions Kimi Raikkonen  and Michael Schumacher  will be looking to build on their podium finishes in the Valencia last month.

Click here to bet on the British Grand Prix