Perth Look to Scorch Strikers

Image courtesy of
Herschelle Gibbs was a key player for Perth last season. Image courtesy of
The Perth Scorchers  and Adelaide Strikers  will both be looking to get their 2012/13 Big Bash campaign off to a good start when the sides meet at the WACA in Perth on Sunday night. Perth will be looking to build on a strong showing in last season’s tournament, when they finished second, while the Adelaide Strikers revamped line-up will want to improve on their sixth placing.

After a poor showing at the Champions League Twenty20 in South Africa where they managed to win just one of four matches, the Scorchers will be hoping that a return to familiar surrounding will be translated into better results. Despite losing their opening match of the campaign to the Hurricanes, Perth finished the League season on top of the table courtesy of five straight wins. Many of those were built on the back of good performances from import Herschelle Gibbs , who is back again after scoring four half centuries in the competition last season. He will be joined at the top of the order by Shaun Marsh , although little brother Mitch has been ruled out of the tournament with a hamstring injury. Adam Voges  returns to Perth after playing for the Melbourne Stars last time around and is a positive addition to the middle order.

Phil Hughes  will make his Big Bash debut for the Strikers before resuming his duties with the Australian Test team in a new look Adelaide batting order. Only Michael Klinger  and Callum Ferguson  remain from the top seven that played in the corresponding match between these sides last season. South African Johan Botha will skipper the side and is joined in the playing XI by Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal, who is filling in for hard hitting West Indian Keiren Pollard.

When these teams met here on January 8 this year, the Scorchers were 42 run victors after posting 5/184. Batting first in that match was obviously an advantage however given that 13 of the 16 Twenty20 matches at the WACA have been won by the side batting first.

Click here to bet on Big Bash matches