Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Picture: Morne de Klerk/Getty Images
Jeronimo has already scored three goals this season. Picture: Morne de Klerk/Getty Images
Adelaide United  will be bidding for its fifth win from just six matches this season when it takes on Perth Glory  at Hindmarsh Stadium on Sunday afternoon. With last Sunday’s 1-0  win over defending premier Brisbane, the Reds moved clear of the Central Coast Mariners on the competition ladder after five rounds and can reassert themselves as the team to beat with a win over Perth, who has already claimed some notable scalps in the new campaign.

The Reds have undoubtedly been the standout side to date this season, dropping just three points when going down 2-1 to Melbourne Victory. Since that result three weeks ago, John Kosmina’s side has been untouchable. Off season signing Jeronimo Neumann and Dario Vidosic have both scored three goals in the opening five weeks and will pose huge problems to their opponents again, but the defence has been equally impressive. Adelaide has kept a clean sheet in three of its five matches this season but will face a thorough examination against Glory’s strong attacking unit.

Perth, who has found the back of the net seven times in its past three matches, will be boosted by the return of leading marksman Shane Smeltz after a month out with injury. He will face stiff competition for a place in the starting lineup however, with both Billy Mehmet and Steve McGarry making the most of his absence in the past four weeks and may be force to return on the bench. Skipper Jacob Burns has been named in the squad despite missing last week’s 3-2 win over Newcastle Jets with a quad injury.

Perth has won its past four matches against Adelaide, with the two most recent visits to Hindmarsh Stadium resulting in 2-0  and 3-0  wins. Although they have been impressive at times this season – boasting wins over Brisbane and Newcastle - they have also been inconsistent and are yet to string together back-to-back wins this campaign.

Click here to bet on A-League matches