Champions League T20

Source: AP/
Harbhajan Singh led the Mumbai Indians to the title in 2011. Source: AP/
The Sydney Sixers  and Perth Scorchers  will represent Australia at the Champions League T20 event in South Africa after finishing first and second in the inaugural Big Bash League last summer. They join teams from India, South Africa, England, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka at the event. While the Australian based franchises provide most of Australia’s representation, there are several other Aussies lining up for other teams. Amongst them is David Warner, who will play for the Delhi Daredevils, while Brett Lee represents Indian Premier League (IPL) champions Kolkata and Australian all rounder Glenn Maxwell will lineup for Hampshire.

IPL teams have historically had the best record in the competition, lifting the trophy in two of the three years that the competition has been run. Defending champion Mumbai  is one of four teams from the IPL to feature this season, alongside 2010 winner Chennai , the Delhi Daredevils  and Kolkata . New South Wales won the inaugural edition of the event in 2009, while they also reached the semi-finals last year. Seven members of that squad are in the Sydney Sixers ranks, including World Twenty20 player of the tournament Shane Watson.

The Perth Scorchers boast a powerful batting lineup containing seven players that have played international cricket, including former South African opener Herschelle Gibbs and 2010 World Twenty20 winning skipper Paul Collingwood.

Click here to bet on the Champions League T20 Winner